Wine, golf, couple life on the road....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
November 28th 2020
Published: December 21st 2020
Edit Blog Post

I have to apologize for not be really on time for writing my blog these days. Been pretty busy at home, and I will not complain about it!



This blog cover the little road trip we did from the wine region of Stellenbosch all the way to home...with few golf courses on the way the last 2 weeks of November.



Little Covid update. Sadly my predictions established early October have been pretty on the dot when it comes to Covid in SA. As many other would confirm, it has actually come way earlier than expected. South Africa is a huge country, and population wise you can nearly compare it to France or Germany. My point was simple...from 5,000 new cases nationally, be cautious...from 10,000 daily new contaminations, stay put at home. Well...back to Stellenbosch....we were between 1,500 to 2,000 new cases per day. Nothing too alarming if you are cautious. Last few days....the 10,000 new daily cases was reached. Currently there is a lot of political battles up there between those who try to lead this country. So sadly tough decision should be taken, but are not, and they only delay them to allow the festive season to happen close to a normal one. Well...I don't want to comment on where I believe we will be in January, it could get pretty ugly here!



Back to the trip....there was a lot of wine...and I can tell you, they can lock us home for 4 months if needed...we are prepared. My new game is finding limited released wines that you will not find in shops anywhere apart from the winery. SA is just a stunning place to explore wine wise. I'm in bubbles, Pinot Noir, Syrah/Shiraz, Blends, Sauvignon Blanc and some Chenin too...my little wine corner is now completed (at least for now)...we are just going to go through it the coming few weeks/months...



South Africa is a top destination for wine, but it is easily the best country in the world when it comes to golf these days. I call the price of a round, the diversity of courses, the quality of those...and more important, the welcome you get....it's just stunning.



So this time, over just 2 weeks, I play Milnerton, Steenberg, Pearl Valley, Erinvale, Hermanus, Pinnacle Point, Simola, Pezula, Goose Valley, St Francis Links...and finally Katberg. I'm going slowly through the last Golf Digest top 100 list of courses in the country. This trip, only one new addition for me. I name Katberg...meaning, I have today play 68 on that top list. Out of the 32 missing, 28 are in Gauteng...maybe we should stay a full month in Joburg!!



We stay mainly in Protea hotels. Most of them were pretty empty, so each time a nice suite with quite often a mini-kitchen. No way we are going to mix in restaurants...so it was dinner "at home" most evening with a decent bottle of wine. This is the joy of playing golf and moving in our little car, there is really no issue to apply proper social distancing.



So that was a serious trip. Next entry, a long week-end mid-December. I still have to sort out few pictures. 2020 is soon over. I may publish a last blog before the end of the year. For those who know me personally and are not on my Facebook....I actually need to do one of these days a blog about home...here it's all about the sharks for now, amazing golf, great food...and yes, pairing all that wine with the home cooking. I just lost 7kg since coming back from Seychelles....so I guess the exercise and wine do match pretty well.



Stay safe and try to enjoy life!


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



21st December 2020

Wow!
You really live the LIFE!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb