Fireworks!!!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
November 8th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Firework night!Firework night!Firework night!

Full moon over Kayamandi added to the crazy atmosphere
Firework night was manic!!!! The children run around setting off fireworks and bangers in the street...I was too scared to go out after a banger went off only a couple of metres in front of me, they thought my fear was hilarious, I didn't! was fun to watch but only from the safety of indoors! Came as a shock as was having a quiet weekend with the children, spending nearly every second with lil Lulutho...he ended up falling asleep on my bed and had to be carried to his own. Thought Guy Fawkes night was an English celebration...

The sun has returned and its sweltering! School is becoming more and more relaxed as the children ‘prepare’ for their exams next week…which means the teacher catches up on marking, the children sit and do nothing. Pam is loading us up with so much marking for the end of term files and we’re having very little contact with the children during lessons, not much fun. Computer class is still going well, they’ve been presenting their Powerpoint presentations to the rest of the class this week and doing adjectives and adverb exercises (I am so bad at this myself). It’s Aviwe’s birthday today and another party is planed for this afternoon…had trouble deciphering between the genuine bdays and those little pickles who lied to get a party!!

I went to Mama Zoleka’s crèche in the morning this week as its been short staffed (staff refusing to turn up until they get paid issues) and feeding time is a bit manic. The food is a kind of porridge…emphasis on the word ‘kind’…it’s a sticky mush and they get it everywhere! Its so bare in there, they amuse themselves by singing, running around and sleeping but all quite content. All apart from the beautiful little boy who was at the crèche for his first day and he balled his eyes out continuously, he became my friend and I didn’t want to leave him to go back to school.

James arrives on Thursday and visits Kayamandi on Friday…I’m taking him to Mama Zoleka’s crèche in the morning for feeding the children and then to Ikaya Primary for computer class…what an electric first day!!!! Then driving round the coast for 4 days, have booked lots stuff along the way… When we return there’s only a few days left at school. The children have started asking
Computer Class!!Computer Class!!Computer Class!!

Aviwe whose bday it is!!!
for copies of all the photos we’ve taken, we are starting to plan our last nights out together, I had a call about my transport to the airport, its all going too quickly and I am not ready to leave yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Computer class!Computer class!
Computer class!

Tiki, Athi, Mambesi, Abonga, Macebo... me
Our Stellenbosch adventure!Our Stellenbosch adventure!
Our Stellenbosch adventure!

Yolanda, Enathi and Lulutho an me on mini-bus taxi heading into Stellenbosch for Hungry Lion burgers!
Our Stellenbosch Adventure!!Our Stellenbosch Adventure!!
Our Stellenbosch Adventure!!

Steam train ride. They made poor Yolanda get off and sit at the back because she was squashing the other children...fortunately she was completely oblivious to it all.


8th November 2006

'face paint'
Em, Thank you for another excellent diary entry and pictures. It was good to see Kate Young in the forum, but I found her suggestion that Bargey should get his 'face painted' a little disturbing. All my best wishes to you, your friends, and all the wonderful, remarkable children, as always, Shirty. x
8th November 2006

its a mad world
as your time in kayamandi draws to a close and you reflect on your time there no doubt you will have had expeirienced a lot of mixed emotions.i have loved reading the travelblog and the pictures of the children have stirred something inside of me.they eminate happiness and of course thats infectous to every one and so you have a very bright and happy comunity inspite of the sadness that some of the children are suffering inside.today we live in a very materialistic society with tremendous wealth and greed that doesnt seem to bring much happiness and contentment perhaps those of us who have been fortunate enough to read this wonderfull travelblog will appreciate the small precious simple things in life and to be able to love and help each other who are less fortunate than ourselves.I Will miss reading your travelblog but then i will be glad to see you home safely i am so very proud of you emma in what you have been doing out there and i am sure you have touched the lifes of many people.An experience with memories to last a life time theres no greater gift than to give of yourself its agreat feeling you must not be sad when you leave but wonderfully happy what you have achieved and knowing that you will be returning to visit this wonderfull place with its warm and friendly people.Much love to you Emma have agreat week next week keep safe and looking forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks.xxxxxxxxx
12th November 2006

computer class
Hello! This is Sonja from Germany and I simply love reading your blog. I stayed at Mama Nuku's until September. I taught in Kayamandi High School and we initialized some sort of computer class there, too. Would you mind finding out for me if the other volunteers managed to keep it up? That would matter to me a lot! I hope you enjoyed your time in Kayamandi as much as I did! Please give a hug to everyone in Zoleka's family and a big ncamisa to Lulutho! Enjoy the rest of your trip in the most beautiful country in the world! Take care, Sonja
16th November 2006

Making up for lack of travelblog!
Thank you for all the lovely goodies in my parcel Mushy. Everything being put to use, me and Jim had them all using the crayons and paper yday. Making the cards and pics for the children at weekend. Cant believe I'm leaving so soon. Spent the morning at the creche with the little ones, now at school marking the English exam...some amusing answers. One wrote a note to herself at the bottom saying good luck. Not been able to update travelblog for a while, been an awesome few days, but hectic travelling place to place and visiting James friends, everyone wants to feed us we're on about 8 meals a day at the mo. Did the driving 50/50...my driving alias is 'mad memmy'!!!!! As basically a 'non-driver' at home has all been a bit of an experience...the roads so long and straight that at night it feels like you're playing one long game of chicken' with the cars coming towards you and my belly goes over. I have taken nearing a begillion photos of elephants, lions, giraffes, hippo, buffalo, ostriches...ill put a few up when get to an internet cafe. Havin braai tonight (traditional South African bbq!!), Hermanus beach tomorrow for last weekend away with a few of the people I've met here. Booked a shark diving sesh that is at 6am saturday, not sure whether the sharks or the thought of 6am is concerning me the most. Love love love to everyone. xxx
18th November 2006

Did you survive?
Emma was reported to be swimming with sharks off the coast of South Africa early this morning (Saturday 18th November). She has not been heard from since.
20th November 2006

Hello from Zoleka and co.
Hi Sonja! Everyone at Zoleka's remembers you, Enathi especially! They all say hi. I haven't had a chance to find out about the computer class yet but I will try to before I leave. Wednesday is my last day here...sure you know how I'm feeling! Hope all is well back at home for you. Emma x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb