One week to go


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Somerset West
May 13th 2016
Published: May 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Thank you for writing on our message page! It is one week to go until we leave. Mom and I just went to Father Martin for a blessing on ourselves and our backpacks. He concentrated more on our back packs than on us, suppose realising that these babies would be our constant companions for 2 weeks. He said some beautiful words- and one really stood out- FORBEARANCE. We quickly googled it when we had finished- tolerance, patience, endurance. Shoo, quite a lot to digest. He clearly understands what the Camino means and requires.

So where did this all begin..this adventure??? Well Mom and I backpacked in Spain and Portugal 15 years ago- I was 25 and Mom was 50. Oupa had passed away 6 months before and I really can't remember how we thought of going to Spain! We got on a plane and went to Spain- seems like madness now. So after 2 weeks of trekking around Spain and Portugal we ended up back in Spain- in Santiago de Compostela. We were sitting in the Cathedral square and saw some really weary tired people arriving with backpacks and staffs. After enquiring, we learned about the Camino. An age old pilgrimage. Intriguing. So then and there the seed was planted.

Many many years went by, about 10, and then I went on line one night and googled South African Pilgrimages. In a little of a low in my life, I was looking for a SOMETHING.

So that night I decided Camino it would be. I asked my hubby if I could do it, and the next day I started the process- booking tickets, getting the Camino Passport and training.

So 4 years ago I landed in Madrid and caught a bus to Astorga to do a section of the Camino.

but this is not about then, its about now. I met a few incredible people on my Camino, and on the last night we all said- how could we ever repeat this experience! It had been so very very rich and rewarding and it seemed like and impossibility to ever be able to repeat this...



So to the NOW! So 6 months ago, mom and I were having a coffee and chat and the seed started to sprout...3 months later we had committed, tickets books, Camino Passports ordered and visas done and dusted...we are DOING THIS!

Mom and I leave in a week- we are doing the Northern Route- coastal route. We have 2 weeks to be together, laugh, cry, make memories and be grateful. What a gift to be able to go back...and with none other than the woman who birthed me.

This can get super deep or we can keep it super fun and chilled. Who knows- that's half the adventure.

The seed that was planted

The seed that sprouts

The flower that blooms

the scent that it gives

The pleasure it brings



So folks on that note- I say beunos noches for now

xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mom and I 10 days before we leave for SpainMom and I 10 days before we leave for Spain
Mom and I 10 days before we leave for Spain

Mom and Tyler and I walked from Somerset West to near Stellenbosch. What a good long walk! 5 hours with 2 breaks!!


10th May 2016
Mom and I 10 days before we leave for Spain

Good Luck
Hi there. This blog looks super cool. Love Adele
10th May 2016

Time to stop talking and do the walking ...
Bon voyage
11th May 2016

Whoop whoop!
12th May 2016

Testing
Eager to read your blog
14th May 2016

Sjoe
My friend and bearer of my best friend, I wish you both all the best. Fear not, I will pester you with texts daily!!!!
14th May 2016

Beunos noches to you both
Praying that God will give you total protection, love and joy with each other plus a whole lot of fun, fun, fun. May this journey be something enlightening and fulfilling in every single way. Go well to you both and may all that which tries to hold you up in any way stay at home and never be a part of your journey. Love to you both and beunos noches dear and beautiful ladies. xxxxxxxxx
19th May 2016

Two Wonderful Ladies
Hello my Darlings, How well written your blog is, your excitement is tangible. And how generous of you to share this awesome experience with us. Please know that you're in our thoughts and hearts every step of the way. God Bless and have fun, fun, fun. Love Les and Elaine and Family xxxxxx
21st May 2016

Good Morning. Missing our morning "coffee break" your cheerful chatter and smiles/huggs.net Will be in touch again soon.Need to attend to Eric right now. Love you both Lots and Lots. Pops

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb