Adventure


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Mossel Bay
August 9th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Adventure is definetely what I have had in the past few days. On Tuesday, I found out that my teacher was sick. Wow- what a day it was. At first the vice principal came in and helped start the class period. Then he left it to me. He left them with a paragraph to copy and label parts of speech. I had to correct his English...interesting. The children don't seem to know the difference between a noun and a verb. If I ask them what a noun is, they are able to tell me perfectly, but when I point to a word and ask what part of speech it is, they haven't a clue. It was a little frustrating. Then I helped them with some Math homework. They seemed to be getting it, but it is just so hard to keep them all involved.

The afternoon was a nightmare. You see, in the morning, one of the other teachers took out 6 of my "naughty" students so that I would have an easier time. Well, I had a full class in the afternoon, and it was not pretty. Luckily the last two periods were PE, and they got to go outside and burn some energy. During PE, the boys play soccer and the girls jump rope (aka skipping). I skipped with the girls. We had a lot of fun, and I got to know some of them much better. I think they are starting to get used to me as well.

Yesterday, the vice principal, Mr Dewet, took us to Cape Point. It was so beautiful. I cannot get over how beautiful Cape Town is. I cannot look at it and say that God did not take part in it's beautiful creation. As I was telling my dad i an email earlier, it is pretty hard not to be spiritually or prayerfully connected to God while being in South Africa, because everything is so beautiful.

Last night, Georgina (my roommate) and I hopped on a bus to Mossel Bay. We have a four day weekend, so we took the opportunity to see some coast cities. Mossel Bay is a small town on the Garden Route, one of the most beautiful and famous areas of South Africa. It is basically a surf town. I got well aquainted with the Indian Ocean on a speed boat ride this morning. We were going so fast that my eyes were watering. It was pretty sweet. Then Georgie and I just laid on the beach for a while. We were going to go Shark Diving today (shark diving is when you get in a cage and go under the water and feed the great whites) but the wind was a problem. Maybe we will go tomorrow. Then today, I played tennis with one of the owners of my backpackers lodge. There is a tennis club right by the hostel, and he had an extra racket, so we played. And- it was free, so I was very happy. It felt good to have a workout.

So, we are here in Mossel Bay for a few nights and then we head to a town called Knysna (pronounced nyzna). I feel very relaxed, and the weather right now is beautiful.

Well I am off to get ready for the braii tonight (BBQ). Hopefully I will add another entry in a few days.

Peace and love,
Jill

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb