From the cheetahs to the elephants


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Knysna
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It did not take me long to feel at home with the cheetahs in Stellenbosch. I have always known that at some point in my life I would leave the Netherlands whether it was for a year or forever. Now it was that time and South Africa was my destination. Cheetahs are magnificent but highly endangered animals and the story needs to be told, people visiting the facility need to know how we are helping the cheetahs from going fully extinct. As volunteers we lived about 10 minutes away (bakkie speed) from the facility and shared laughter and tears. Living together with people that you have never met is not always easy but sharing the little cottage with this group has been the best time of my life.
Somebody ones told me:
You meet people for a season, a reason or for the rest of your life!
(thank you Justine!)
Most of the people that I have met in those 5 months I met with a reason, I would not have been where I am today if it wasn't for Kerry, Mark, Justine , the tour guide who told me about the Knysna Elephant Park and so many other people that really supported me.
There have been so many people that enriched my life, they made me grow and helped me to get a step closer to how I want to be.
I am one of those people who wants others to stay on a save distance and I have to admit....I am no stranger of judging people (for the last 10 minutes I have been thinking whether to leave this line in here or take it out, I will leave it in). The period I spent in Stellenbosch I have grown, I learned not to judge and to see the good in everybody. I learned to ask for help when I need it and not to try everything myself and so I did I learn to listen and not to speak to quickly!
This 'stepping out of my comfort zone" had been a great and rewarding adventure so far.
I never realized that being born in Europe is such a HUGE privilege, sure you hear about the third world countries ans poverty but did I ever realize....no!
Staying in South Africa sure made me a better person, realizing that being happy comes with treating others the way how you would want to be treated, being happy comes from sharing with others, being happy is within everybody.....I just had to listen!!!!
Enough serious talk, time for a beer in the sun.
Anke








Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb