Kayamundi


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Kayamundi
August 21st 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning I went with Micha and Neele to Kayamundi a township not far from Stellenbosch. The town is all shacks made of random piece of sheet metal and plastic. As soon as we got there three children ran up to us and we gave them rides on our bikes. We went to a community center in the morning where the leader informed us that many of the local children had stomach viruses. There was a man I think was from the community, and the leader told him that he needed to tell the mothers to take their children to the clinic. He said that it was not his responsibility nor the community center's call, it should be up to the parent's.

We went to different houses where children from ages 1-4 played on barren dirt floors. Some of the volunteers took the sick children to clinic while Micha, another volunteer, and I stayed with the children who weren't sick. We couldn't communicate with them since they only understood Xhosa but we still managed to connect with them through dancing, clapping, silly faces and noises. The kids loved our hair since it was long and silky, they gave Micha and I new hair-do's. They were so friendly and open. One little boy wearing a green coat sat on my lap and held my hand the whole time. Other children would come over and try to get my attention and he would get upset. After two hours we had to leave because Micha had class. I was very glad I had came, the children were adorable and it solidified my life ambitions of encouraging development that is sustainabile and restoring communities.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb