Rest, relaxation and gluttony!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Gansbaai
December 20th 2012
Published: December 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


GansbaaiGansbaaiGansbaai

Christmas lights
For once I am blogging in the present and not past blogs! It's December and the festive season is upon us. It is time for Christmas holidays and we are going to visit family and friends and spend some time in Gansbaai, territory of the Great White Shark. And NO, I am not going diving with them! First of all, I am a fair weather diver, so I won't be putting my foot in that cold water, let alone a limb or two that could become a tasty morsel for the shark. But you can dive in a cage, you will say. My reply: those cages look far too flimsy for me and I am not a fan of chumming to attract the sharks. (I must confess I do my own chumming, but that's another story....) Besides, I have been rather spoilt by swimming and diving in other warmer tropical oceans, far kinder to the body and at my age I would rather go for comfort than that kind of thrill.

But there is something about the Cape coast that you don't find at a tropical coastline. The smell of the sea is so much more intense - a pleasant
GansbaaiGansbaaiGansbaai

Maintenance done on one of the commercial fishing boats
ocean smell which must come from the abundant kelp along the coast. The crashing of the waves against the rocks with shells that have been crushed over time by harsh coastal conditions. There seems to be far more pelagic bird life as well. Nothing better than walking along the beach front, taking deep breaths of fresh sea air, enjoying watching the ever changing sea. Both Paul and I can sit and gaze at it for hours and we do miss it when we are back at home far away from the sea.



Casual fishermen will be taking their boats out to sea. It is the crayfish season, so most of them will try their luck to bring something home for the pot. If not crayfish, theme something else from the sea.

Our time will be spent catching up with family that we haven't seen for a year or three. I will be looking forward to seeing everyone and no doubt we will have much fun and laughter, but there probably won’t be much to blog about.

Festive greetings to one and all! Hope you all have a very special one this year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

GansbaaiGansbaai
Gansbaai

Activity at the new harbour wall
GansbaaiGansbaai
Gansbaai

Fishing from the old harbour wall


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb