Wine Tasting


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Franschhoek
December 15th 2021
Published: December 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Franschhoek


South Africa has some of the best wines in the world and when I visited Cape Town in summer (better their winter) 2019 I had to go on a wine tour. Since I was on my own I booked a tour through a website called Viator, which I usually used when booking tours on my travels.

The tour I chose hit a few wineries in Franschhoek, Paarl and Stellenbosh. It was a full day tour and the driver picked everyone up from their hotel. Only three other people joined the tour which was nice, as we all got to know each other a but better. At the first winery our guide gave us a tour of the wine cellar and a little bit of history on how the wines were made. Most of these wineries are family businesses and have been for generations.

In each winery we got to taste about five different wines. I must admit that at the last winery I was slightly tipsy. I know you are not supposed to drink all the wine, but I am not an expert. Some places also provided cheese and chocolate to go with the tastings. We visited around five different wineries that day plus a cognac distillery. The winery grounds were absolutely gorges. One even had zebras walking around their fields.

Midday we had a nice lunch that was included in our tour and of course it was accompanied with a nice glass of wine. Our tour guide was very friend and knew everything about the wines and the locations we went to. It was a beautiful day out in the country side and I can only recommend it. I even ended up buying six bottled of wine, more than I intended ?


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb