Castle of Good Hope


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
October 22nd 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good day bloggers.



If you really want to learn to understand and grow your knowledge about South Africans in the time of Jan Van Riebieck then The Castle of Good Hope is the best place for you to do so.



When I went there it was actually because i was doing an assignment about the destination in Grade 11. I was extremely excited to go because i had never been there before. I always drove pass the castle and admired it, wondering what was on the inside of these walls. All that i could see were the huge catsle walls with sergents standing around with army uniform, holding their guns. It looked pretty scary at first until I actually made the effort to buy me a ticket and go see for myself. I had an interview scheduled with one of the tour guides there. She was going to help me with my assignment and answer a few of my questions,but first she said i have to go on the tour with her and see for myself what really happened at this place. I then came to learn that The Castle of Good Hope is the oldest surviving colonial building in South Africa. From 1678 it was the centre of civilian, administrative and military life at the Cape, until the settlement grew and some fuctions and activitiesmoved away from the castle. The castle houses the Castle Military Museum and Iziko Museums of Cape Town. as i walked through the place she took us int various rooms where different things happened to people. The one that caught my eye the most was the Cungeon where punishment to the people were given. It was really sad.



all in all it wqas a great experience. At 12 everyday the cannon goes off and i got to experience that. it was really fun and informative.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb