Arrived Safely and On Time


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Capetown earlier this morning safe and on time and very tired from the 30+ hours that I spent traveling to and from airports, waiting at the airport, and flying.

It was raining and kind of chilly when I arrived, so I'm very glad that I brought my fleece. I was greeted at the airport by Lucinda. She runs a hostel, or backpacker as they call them here. I'm in the village of Kommetjie, 40 minutes from CapeTown, located somewhere along the peninsula although I haven't had a chance to look at my exact location on a map. I think the southwesternmost tip of Africa (Cape Point, or Cape of Good Hope)is very close by. On the drive to Kommetjie from the airport, it was dark so I wasn't able to see, but I was told that during the day, you can see both the Indian AND the Atlantic Ocean at the same time.

I met my 5 traveling partners for the next two weeks and they seem very nice. Kate and Sean are married and teach at a boarding school near Boston. Amy is a teacher in New York. Lori works in Arizona, and Jen is traveling all over the world for a year, but originally from San Francisco.

I've only just arrived, so I haven't had the chance to do much except to enjoy the scenery outside the hostel. There's the beach on one side and mountains on the other. Some of the peculiar things that I've seen the signs that say "Robot Ahead." Robot is the term that they use for a stop light. I was also informed not to use the word "crap" here. Other swear words are okay, but not crap.

Well, there's a quick update. I think I will have regular access to the internet while I'm here so keep checking back for updates, pictures, and videos.



Advertisement



6th July 2006

Good luck!
Angela - Enjoy your travels and best of luck to you in Africa. Sounds exciting! I'm looking forward to the updates and pics! All the best.
7th July 2006

:)
Hi Angela. I am glad that you arrived there safely after the long travel, and that you found your travel buddies nice. Hope you have loads of fun, but please be safe :) I look forward to your real-time update on the blog. What a great idea! Namiko
7th July 2006

Angela!
Glad to hear you got there safe and sound. =) Have a great time!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb