San Fran to London to Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 6th 2006
Published: June 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After the rushed drive to the airport frantically filling out forms, going over paperwork with Mom while Dad swerved around traffic all while on the phone with my booking agent trying to finalize and purchase my tickets for the Pacific part of my trip; I arrived tired and car sick at San Fran International Airport. As I boarded the plane the enormity of what I had just done came over me. I was all alone and I was going to Africa! What was I thinking. Sure I had traveled alone before but generally to Europe or for a few days in South America but never for a month and never in Africa. Dispite my feelings of self doubt I could not shake the sense that I needed to do this that there was a reason for my going to Africa specifically. I had intended to go to China and Russia but I believe that there was a reason Africa was the only trip that worked. So I should have faith and roll with it.

As I walked back to my window seat I was met by a very handsome single man seated next to me....OK, so the 10 hour flight is looking a lot better. See, being alone is not so bad. I arrived in London 10 hours later very tired. There was some confusion as to who my flight was with United or South African Airways. As it turns out it was on South African Airways which meant with the new terminal security rules I had to go through security twice. So, I spent the first three hours of my nine hour layover in security lines. Once I finally got to the South African Airways desk I was behind a very large group. As soon as I got to the desk a woman in her 50s with thick purple eyeshadow, a color that matched her uniform, politely informed my that the computers where down and I should go have a cup of tea and come back in 20 minutes. So barely able to walk I was so tired, I figured I would take the advice. I would need to stay up for another 6 hours or risk sleeping through my flight call.

A cup of tea, a few phone calls home, and a little airport shopping for things I had forgot to pack such as shampoo and sunscreen I arrived at the counter to find the computers where working.

A few hours later after semi sleeping in the waiting area my flight was called. As I boarded in SA flight to Cape Town I was yet again met by a very handsome man....window seats and handsome single men....and I was worried....I should have taken this trip years ago. As it turned out the gentleman seated next to me was not single but married. He was in London to look at a flat the company buying his software company had leased for him and his family for one year while he assisted in the transfer of the business. He explained that it had no lawn and he was worried if his wife could live in a house with no lawn. He explained how in Cape Town they had a nice little home on a half acre with a pool and a rolling lawn. They would miss Africa in the year they would be gone.

As we arrived in Cape Town he very politely asked if I would like to join him and his family for dinner that evening if I didnt have plans. He was sure his wife would enjoy the company. I said thank you but I had a meeting with the tour group that evening and would not be able to take him up on his kind offer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb