World Cup 2010 Match 1 & 2 South Africa vs Mexico (JoBurg) France vs Uruguay @ Greenpoint Stadium Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 15th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I cannot believe that the World Cup is here and among us all!! WOW! You guys have really NO CLUE how wild this place is- I am going to do my best to describe its awesome-ness to you, through videos, pictures and my only slightly descriptive text :P
It is truly a blessing to be here - thanks so much to all of my family, friends and readers (ahahahah) for supporting me along my journey. Shit you must have thought I was nuts.. Now, and only now, do I understand why.

The South African populations as a whole are SO proud, honored and truly changed by this monument in history that the world cup has made it on African soil. Everyone is alive and believes in change and hope more than I have ever seen it in my life. (Yes, even more so than when we elected Obama--hard to believe eh?) You have probably heard all the vuvuzelas during the matches -- I have been hearing that blown throughout the city for weeks now. EVERYONE IS ECSTATIC and cannot help but to blow their vuvuzelas at the top of their lungs and dance in the streets. I haven’t been close up and in the action of anything to this magnitude before and the atmosphere is addictive. The happiness, joy and hope of the people brought goose bumps to my body about 15 times before the kick off of the Bafana Bafana team (South Africa) -- truly awe-inspiring. I LOVE IT HERE. Do not be surprised everyone when I take off in 4 years to go to Brazil for the next world cup (and Olympics for that matter).

We started off our day at 1030 AM at the Fifa fanfest, right outside of the Castle of Good Hope and the City Hall. Thousands of people joined in the streets before they let up into the ‘park’ at noon. The park consisted of food, an ATM, beer and a huge big screen TV for everyone to enjoy the game and atmosphere together. It was great. Everyone cheered and the whole floor/Cape Town/Africa vibrated when South Africa’s Bafana Bafana scored its goal - Everyone in the town was dancing, singing, honking the horns and blowing vuvuzelas out the windows once the game was over and ended in a draw with Mexico 1 and South Africa 1. South Africa got lucky. It was AMAZING and you will see from my pictures that we were blessed with great weather, company, loud vuvuzelas and a fantastic view.

Lots of dancing, beer drinking and laughing. After the South African game was over we headed over to the Greenpoint Cape Town stadium where we would enjoy 90 minutes of the most BORING soccer I have ever watched. Noone scored, no fights, nothing exciting happened. I waited in line for 30 minutes for overpriced water and didn’t miss a damn thing. The France vs. Uruguay game was worthless.. a lot like the French (hahah Emma if you are reading this you KNOW how much I love you!) ☺ It was just a super boring game with lots of loud vuvuzelas. The stadium is amazing and we had great seats. Section 101 Row 25 seat 18 -- yea not too shabby. On the field are these huge plastic benches where the players sit, which have a nice big sound dynamic plastic cover-like thing - so that the vuvuzelas don’t drive the players too mad. (Good luck) I was reading the paper and it says that the vuvuzelas are more than 3 times louder than a chainsaw or a lawn mower. DAMN. Don’t worry I have earplugs and I am using them.

Enjoy all the pictures. It was a great time. So much fun, never ever a dull moment here. Lots more adventures and games to come.



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

GirlsGirls
Girls

Teresa and Chelsea
oh yeaaaoh yeaaa
oh yeaaa

Tebo crept up behind me and before I know it I am TALL
Nice view eh?Nice view eh?
Nice view eh?

I want to work for COKE


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb