Quick Updates


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 21st 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey, buddies o' mine!

I'm sorry that it's been so long since I've been in touch, and unfortunately this will be an unsatisfactorily short email. Suffice it to say that I'm just as busy here as in Chicago, and have been spending my spare time at the beach. Heck Yes. I've been in Cape Town since January 9th, and we're settled in some posh guesthouses in a really nice neighbourhood. Here are some recent highlights of life:
Johannesburg:
1. Eating a mopani worm
2. Touring the Apartheid Museum
3. Being taught by super-star professor David Bunn, who we're described as a mix between Alan Rickman and Jack Bauer, with the sunny disposition of Percy (Hugh Laurie's character) on Black Adder.
4. Being introduced to TimTams, undeniably the yummiest pre-packaged cookie in the world.

Cape Town:
1. SUNSHINE!!!
2. John Comaroff's ridiculous puns
3. Climbing Table Mountain on Saturday, and clambering down a jungle-book-worthy ravine.
4. Meeting up with long-time friend, Jonathan Palmer...attending his church (St. James') and learning how to body surf (albeit with little success)
5. Making instant connection with two campus ministries at the University of Cape Town: the Student Y (for whom I'll be leading a study in Ephesians. It's like I'm an addict) and The Student Christian Organization (an IV affiliate, hopefully doing some sort of AIDS work).
6. Seeing wild penguins, baboons and ostrich on the first day in the cape (Josh, that's for you.)

There are lots of other exciting things happening...as I mentioned, I'm working with the Student Y leading a small group of young Christians through Ephesians. I'm also working at two other internships: one at a group called Inyathelo, and one at an AIDS clinic in Hout Bay. I'm hoping to do more talking with SCO, but haven't yet been able to coordinate the schedules. Anyway, I'm happily busy, as is my wont, and this weekend will be adding surfing lessons to my list of activities. I'm even getting a tan!

The most important news, however, is that I AM NOW AN AUNT!!!! My brother Josh's wife gave birth to a beautiful baby boy four days late on January 20th. His name is Max, he's healthy and happy, and I'm eagerly awaiting pictures which will be forwarded on to you at the earliest possible moment.

But now, I must run to Inyathelo, where I'll be organizing a database of South African NGO's for the next two months.

Much love to all, and keep me in the loop!

-Lauren

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb