Cape Point & Cape of Good Hope


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 27th 2007
Published: May 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is the first of two days I have been waiting for since I found out I was going to South Africa-The Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point. Today is my professors birthday so a few of us got up early and decorated the dining area of the guest room to surprise her when she came down. We had a "random" birthday party at breakfast and then we got on our way to the place where two waters meet. On the way we stopped in Kalk Bay a fishing and tourist area. We walked around shopped and ate. I am enjoying being a tourist after spending the majority of my trip so far being a student and a volunteer.

We arrived at Cape Point and were welcomed by baboons sitting in the middle of the street. I couldn't get a good picture of them from my place in the bus but I will find one as soon as I can. Anyway, to get to the top of Cape Point where the lighthouse is you either take the rail car up to the top for R34 (34 rand) or walk. The walk was painful. It was about 15 minutes uphill with some stairs in between the slopping paths. My calves burned and I thought I was going to pass out. But the view was worth it. It was freezing at the top and I just thought to myself this air is so cold not only because we are so high but directly south of here is Antartica bringing cold winds and cold water from the glacial melt. At this moment I also realized that on this trip I was the farthest away from the people I loved. (Tear)

Moving on, from here we went to the Cape of Good Hope. It was so windy that I could feel the sea mist was just blasting everyone in the face; it was salty and cool. There was an energy there as everyone ran around taking pictures, gathering sand, and selecting the perfect rock. I could not tell if the energy came from the people or the place. I pick the place of course.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb