Kleinmond Adventure


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thank God for Africa!



The weekend was a mixture of wonderfulness and boredom. First off it is winter in South Africa, so going to the beach is not the best idea. Second, the waves in South Africa are monsters compared to the waves in Virginia so no one wanted to swim anyway.

The first day in Kleinmond was the educational part. We learned history and we were given a tour by the deputy Mayor and his staff. It is beautiful there and everything is right on the ocean. Here, you can smell the salt in the air. That evenign we walked to the beach. We climbed over some huge rocks attached to the shoreline and we watched the waves crash into shore. As the sunset behind the mountains and I had my first Ah ha Africa moment . If finally hit me that I was in Africa. I saw myself standing at the edge of the world looking out into nothingness and feeling my existence for the first time. Feeling that in the grand scheme of things I am so small yet God layed all this beauty and experience before me so that I may do big things.

That night a huge storm came in and the second day in Kleinmond was a complete wash. It was freezing outside and it rained the whole day. The wind was blowing so hard the windows shook. So we all stayed inside and slept. The best part of the trip so far has been the food. Linda Fortune (writer and apart of the District Six Museum) was our host this weekend and we had some amazing food. We had a brie (barbecue) with chicken and fish, beef curry, vegetable soup, maple pancakes with ice cream, home made bread, and so muh more that I don't know how to spell yet.

So, Sunday...I WENT TO SEE THE AFRICAN PENGUINS! They are called jackass penguins because they sound like donkeys. It was great. There were hundreds of them and they are so small. It was freezing outside but we all wrapped up in blankets and went out to the coast to see them. The sea spray was hitting everyone it the face and the sea foam was floating all around us. Things like this make the trip so worthwhile. Ah ha Africa Moment #2.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb