24 hours of Travel


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I Leave For South Africa!



I woke this morning nervous and excited. I was anxious to begin the journey but leery about what to expect once arriving. I had a wonderful breakfast with my mom and Fat Burger and then it was off to Norfolk International.

The travel plan was Norfolk International to Dulles (D.C.). From Dulles to Johannesburg. From Johannesburg to Cape Town.

The flight to DC was short, of course. The second flight was a test. I was in the middle on the huge Boeing which meant I was very uncomfortable. This was worsened by the fat white man on my right whose fat arm kept poking me and taking up my arm rest while I was trying to play mah jong on the air plan tv screen. The flight was 15 hours of absolute bordem, deliriousness, leg cramps, sleepiness, and cabin fever. But I loved every minute of it.

Upon arriving in Johannesburg the first thing I heard was Chris Daughtry "Home" (strange). But it gets worse. Johannesburg looked like D.C. Africa is so Americanized. Everything is in English and almost everyone speaks English.

We had to WALK from one terminal to the other (no shuttle). We transfered to our next flight to Cape Town and we were off. All in all the best part of the trip was landing in Cape Town at 7:00 pm on Saturday and stepping off the plan into the African air. Maybe it was just me but I could feel and smell the energy in the air. I could not belive I made it--Africa. The place where it all began and little old me was there. God is so good to me.

Now the exhaustion hits and I just want something to eat and a pillow. We took a short walk through downtown about 9:00. Downtown Cape Town looks like a combination of New York, D.C., and New Orleans (strange). Anyway it is 11:00 here (5:00 pm in Virginia) and the internet cafe is about to close. I'll be back in a few days to give an update.

Peace and Love.




Advertisement



23rd May 2007

The Fat White Guy
You are the only person I know who can go to AFRICA land of brown people and find a fat white guy to sit next to. HAHAHAHAHAHHAHA!!! I hope you trip back will not be as uncomfortable.
23rd May 2007

blessed
youareveryblessed to be able to go to south africa. i hope to go one day. plan a trip when you get back(smile). take good journal notes. be as specific as you can. right now i will live my south africa experience through you. tell us how it is a mixture of n.y,dc and neworleans-a strange combination. miss and love you

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb