Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes here we go again, excuses why I have not had the time to write.. Ok, skip the excuses.. I have just been lazy and I'm enjoying myself too much! Since i last wrote I have been to Wilderness and that was excactly like it sounds.. In the wild, beautiful though, but very quiet! The hostel was one of the better ones i have stayed in, really cosy with a country feel to it. When I arrived there was only one person in this whole place and he happened to be at the bar.. He asked me to join him and so i did. I mean, there was not anything else to do at this place.. So there i was in th middle of nowhere, drinking wine with a stranger from 2 pm in the afternoon.. Well it was a pretty interesting afternoon and i think I fell into the part of being a councellor.. This poor guy had just split up with his girlfriend of 3 years, hence the early drinking! He needed somone to talk to desperately. The morning after I went horse riding in the forest before I was off to Mossel Bay, a small town by the sea with a long nice beach. I met 2 very friendly English guys on the bus and they happened to stay at the same hostel too. Once again, I had company and we cooked a nice meal at night. I was then off to Stellenbosch.. yay! This splace is beautiful, but it doesn't feel South African what so ever, more Dutch, very European! The architecture is pretty old, but white stone washed walls and with small cafe's, restaurants and cute little shops in every corner. I signed up for a wine tour that took a group of us- about 25 to 5 different wine estates. The scenery was just stunning, I couldn't get over how beautiful it was with all the wineyards and mountains as a back drop. The perfect place to be drinking wine and lots of it! We got to taste about 5 different wines in each place-white, red, champagne and dessert wine..You can only imagine how the day ended.. We also had a nice lunch with again, more wine.. I had such a nice time, really enjoyed all the tasting, the people and the setting. Later that same day I had to take the bus to Cape Town feeling slightly tipsy, he he. I met the 2 English guys again on the bus, they had done the same thing that day, very funny!

Cape Town- where can I begin!?Except for the sunny, hot weather, It is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever been to. I could easily live here.. Great city centre with lots of restaurants, bars, clubs, shopping, african markets and buzzing with people. Then there is the great water front where there are dussins of restaurants and tooooo much shopping! A great place to spend a whole day. A nice lunch by the sea, then picking up a few peaces of clothing in one of the many shops.
Beaches- stunning. Camps Bay is more of the happening beach with a strip of bars, cafe's and restaurants across the road. I also love this place because of where it is, again, mountains in the back ground makes this place magical! I have never seen anything like it. Also a lot of performers around singing, playing sax and bongo drums, dancing.. loved it!
The other beach I have been to is called Clifton Bay, this is where there is serious money floating around! A very posh area with amazing houses right on the beach and all around. They even have their own cable cars becuase of the mountain and how steap it is.. crazy!! A much more quiet beach, but still great! On a Sunday you go to La Med in the afternoon which is a very hip bar-restaurant near the beach and where it's the perfect spot to watch the sunset. It gets really busy and all the trendy, rich locals turn up and ready to party. Love that place, a lot of fun!

On my first day here I climbed Table Mountain which is the main one that you can see from the city. It took us 4 hours in total and my god it was tough! Constant uphill and steep like h*ll! The first hour was walking in the forest up up up, therefor shade, but once we came out of it, it was HOT! At one point I didn't think I would make it to the top, my legs just wouldn't move and being hungry and thirsty didn't help. However I did it and it was an amazing experience. The views we got to see on the way, incredible and stunning! It wasn't the same once we got to the top and so I'm very glad I did it. I have awsome pictures as well.

I also went on a Cape Penensuila tour one day. They took us to Simon's town which is 1 hour outside Cape Town city and where all the penguins are.. So cute! We also went to Cape Point which is the most south western point in Africa. We cycled through the national park and also went to Hout Bay which is a small fishing village.

Today I went to District six museum, very interesting, but pretty upsetting at the same time. It is all about how they moved-forced about 50 000 black people from their homes, the reason: It was to become a 'white' area! This only happened in 1966 which is so strange to think about, not very long ago at all!

I have done a lot since I came, but can't write it all down.. I will have to tell you about it all when I get back.

Only 4 days to go and I feel a slight panic.. don't want to come back yet! I have had the most incredible time and something that I will always remember! An experince of a life time and something I would recommend anyone to do.

Anyway, going now, more sightseeing to do!

Miss you all, but will see you very soon!
Hxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



10th April 2007

ja vilken häftig resa du gjort, det blir säkert ett minne för livet. Häftiga bilder från Bungy jumping , men där går nog gränsen för vad jag skulle våga göra. Åk hem och spara dina minnen för livet och spara ihop till nästa resa, sydamerika var det va? då kan du få lite adresser i Chile och Columbia om du ska dit . Lenamoster

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb