Little trip to Cape Town and the winelands...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 1st 2022
Published: June 1st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Isn't life gorgeous?? Hope you are hanging there in this world that may have just re-opened...but that is facing the worst disease us travelers are fighting, I call hyper-inflation! So let see if we can make 2022 even better than 2021....after all, we all survived a crazy world, so let's try to get the best of it!



Inflation is at work here in South Africa too...but due to the lack of international travelers, if you are a good hunter, this place is actually better than anything you'll find in North America, Europe or currently the few places open in Asia. So be smart...and come down under...the Africa way!



I'm finally getting myself up to date with blogging! Impressive isn't it...well....maybe our own schedule pushed me...we are back on a long flight this Friday...and it's only the start of way more fun coming the next few weeks/months!



So here it is, after few fun days in Congo in between Lubumbashi and Kinshasa...because sometimes even I have to work...here we are in and around Cape Town! Yes this place is amazing, but I would never live here! Winter is coming soon....and trust me, from June to early October, this place is cold, windy, rainy...pure what I'm not looking for. Oh yes, and from mid-November till late February....there are so many international travelers....that I hate the crowds they bring it...plus the hike in prices! So CT...known locally, is actually perfect from mid-march till mid-may... and again from mid-October till max end November! That's it! Let's call it limited time framed super paradise!



This trip is not about discovery...but rather back to top restaurants that we love...and some, well one, we had to give a second chance due to his ranking and the lack of it we had for our last visit. I promise, next visit we'll try to fully renew ourselves and go for fully new places!



There was wine...well....11 bottles back on the plane in 2 carry-ons, plus 6 bottles in the check'ings bags! Yes, SA is one of these three countries with Argentina and Chile that will allow liquids in carry-ons on domestic flights....guess it's all about the wine issue! Trust me, my little wine rack at home is a very special affair. It feels good to know that at least 3 times a week....we open something very special...once Tanya is back on work....anywhere in the world...this will be just a dream for us! SA is by far the best country for wine these days...and I'm European!



Did play some golf...a round at Paarl...and play my 93th course of the top 100 in the country when it comes to best golf courses in the country. I will spare you a golf blog...but today, after spending a week in Joburg, I can claim to be the first and only foreigner golfer to have play the current 2022 top 100 golf courses in the country. And achievement I'm proud of...knowing only four South Africans golfers did it. I may know SA wines better than 90% of wine connoisseurs.... I know gol in SA better than 99% of the connoisseurs...makes me smile but proud too!



Five days around the Winelands and Cape Town with my love! Sun is out, wine is amazing, food is stunning....what else do you need....ready to fly back home...and trust me...June and July are only next to come...doing our best to make 2022 very special!



With Love from South Africa! Stay safe...and have a glass of wine or a bottle on us!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb