Leaving Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town » De Waterkant
April 30th 2016
Published: May 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


As we are leaving today, I am finding our departure bittersweet. I would love to stay and experience more of what South Africa has to offer and share it with my children. This trip has been very eye opening and enlightening. It has also reawakened thoughts about what type of citizen I am within my local and global community. What am I teaching my children about looking helping others and improving the world that we live in?


It's hard not to feel a bit hypocritical when asking why more isn't being done at a faster pace to bring about equality and equity among the races and classes in South Africa. My curiosity has been peaked and now I feel the need to learn more about that I have seen and add some additional informational. A few books in the airport have caught my attention:


• "We have now begun our descent: How to STOP South Africa losing its way" by Justice Malala
• "Cape GANG Town" by Don Pinnock
• "The New Black Middle Class in South Africa" by Roger Southall


Also the Sawubona Magazines that were on the SAA flights have some interesting and thought provoking articles. The Newspaper explaining the hisorty of Solms Delta will top off my readings with some great anthropological details.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb