At the Waterhole


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo
August 2nd 2011
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Warthog01 Warthog01 Warthog

A warthog by the waterhole.
Geo: -24.7435, 26.2573

This afternoon we finished work early as we had no guests tonight. Paul had to guide for Tree Lodge. I spent two hours at the hide enjoying the warm African winter sun. There was a large adult warthog drinking and eating the grass around the hide. I was hoping to see elephants. This time yesterday there were elephants at the waterhole. But unfortunately there were none today. I sat there reading a magazine and frequently looked around to spot animals. In the wetland area there were two bushbuck.

There were no other animals. In the trees surrounding the hide there were four grey go-away birds. They seemed unfazed by my company. So I managed to get some close up photos of them. Two Southern Yellow Billed Hornbills came quite close to me too. It was a very quiet and peaceful afternoon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

02 Swimming02 Swimming
02 Swimming

A Common Moorhen swimming in the waterhole.
03 On the Other Side03 On the Other Side
03 On the Other Side

On the other side of the wetland area there are some kudu.
04 Drinking04 Drinking
04 Drinking

The warthog drinking at the waterhole.
05 Up Above 05 Up Above
05 Up Above

Sitting in the tree above me was this Grey Go-Away bird.
06 Also Above 06 Also Above
06 Also Above

There was also a Southern Yellow Billed Hornbill sitting in the tree above me while I was sitting in the hide.
07 Watching Me07 Watching Me
07 Watching Me

Another Southern Yellow Billed Hornbill watching me from a nearby tree.
08 Warthog08 Warthog
08 Warthog

The warthog walking past me.
09 Sitting09 Sitting
09 Sitting

The Grey Go-Away bird sitting on the branch.
10 Closer10 Closer
10 Closer

The Southern Yellow Billed Hornbill moved closer to me- very friendly.
11 Posing11 Posing
11 Posing

The Grey Go-Away Bird posing for a photo.
12 A Different Pose12 A Different Pose
12 A Different Pose

The Grey Go-Away Bird in a different pose.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb