Out of our Window


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo
April 9th 2011
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Male Bushbuck01 Male Bushbuck01 Male Bushbuck

The male bushbuck outside our bathroom window.
Geo: -24.7435, 26.2573

This afternoon as dusk was approaching I was looking outside our large bathroom window and I could see a male bushbuck eating the bushes. Nearby there was a female bushbuck. There are about a dozen bushbuck that live in the camp. I see them most days grazing in the bush. They will usually stop and stare at me when I come across them and then continue eating once I walk past.

After the bushbuck left the bushes outside our bathroom I looked up and saw the tree branches move, which I have learnt usually means that there are monkeys jumping about. In Madikwe Game Reserve there are Vervet Monkeys. They are light grey, white chest and black face. He was just staring at me and had I not been noticed he would have jumped on the window sill- like one did a week ago. Monkeys are known to jump through windows and take food and toiletries. I took a photo of him and then closed my windows!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

02 Looking at me02 Looking at me
02 Looking at me

The male bushbuck noticed me looking at him.
03 Female Bushbuck03 Female Bushbuck
03 Female Bushbuck

The male bushbuck's female companion.
04 Female Bushbuck04 Female Bushbuck
04 Female Bushbuck

Its head among the branches.
05 Cheeky Monkey05 Cheeky Monkey
05 Cheeky Monkey

A very cheeky looking monkey that would have jumped into my bathroom window had I not been standing there looking at it.
06 Eating06 Eating
06 Eating

The male bushbuck eating leaves from the bushes.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb