The Clinic


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Things are progressing well with the study. I've been working closely over the past three days with Mr. Shakes Mathbula, a nurse at the Health Center. I've really just been observing and trying to figure out how best to work the study protocol into the day-to-day happenings of the clinic. The clinic itself is a government run establishment that is part of the Vhembe District Health Department. Its like any other primary care setting in the states. For the kids its mostly runny noses, colds, flu, immunizations and well child exams. Most adults present with similar complaints or they are receiving monthly care for more chronic conditions like hypertension, diabetes, asthma etc. They do quite alot of pre-natal care and I was fortunate enough to sit in on a few exams, the two weeks of obstetrics we had in POM2 this spring helped a little, however I'm only getting the parts of the story the nurses feel like translating so its hard to know what I'm missing.
There are no doctors at Thohoyandou Health Center but you'd never know it watching the nurses work. Its a very nice place to work and I'm very excited to get started on the study.

The plan right now is to consent patients on Monday and Wednesday and collect samples on Tuesday and Thursday, Friday I will spend in the lab running the necessary tests and get right back to consenting again on monday. This leaves weekends free, but I have no idea what I'll do wth myself. Thohoyandou is a great reminder that no matter where you are in the world a small town is a small town with all its charms and coexisting boredoms. I'm reading books again, which is nice. Finshed up Ishmael (good reccomendation Clay) and have just started I am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe...pretty entertaining stuff. Anyways I have ameeting with Pascal and Samie at 3 at the University and hopefully they will sign off on the plan Shakes and I have come up with regarding the study. So I'm off to take care of that but feel free to drop an email or a comment. I hope everyone is enjoying summer back home and staying cool.


Until next time...

Advertisement



29th June 2007

Nice Place to work
Hay Jimmy! Looks like you are getting a lot of exposure to a lot areas, really proud of what your are doing and love reading your blogs. Having a blast working with your father, everyday is a hoot. Take care and keep up the good work George

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb