Journey Continued


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Tzaneen
March 10th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Phalaborwa airport was tiny but so nice with statues of African wildlife dotted around the place. Apparently I have to experience the toilets when I fly back, intriguing. A guy called Matthew was there to meet me to take me to the monkey rehab, he had a board with my name on it held up, made me feel all important (I expect the same treatment when I come home please as obviously I'll be unrecognisable with this awesome tan I'm building up). Had about an hours drive back to the centre and, like you do, saw a troop of baboons chilling out on the side of the road and black and white antelope out in the bush (so glad that when asked "can you see that?" I answered with "ummmm" rather than "oh my god, is that an elephant", I blame it on the heat, plays tricks with my mind)! Also saw loads of anthills, they're the size of me and beyond (not hard, but they're huge, honest).

When we pulled up at base camp I was greeted with a stampede of dogs, in my element already. Then met the other volunteers, gave everyone a big cheesy smile and wave when we pulled up - what a geek! Had my first experience of the outdoor showers, lizards and a frog joined me, I didn't jump in the slightest, really.

Went in the baby monkey cage in the afternoon. I know now where the phrase "cheeky monkey" comes from and there was really no need for me to take a shower - was christened with lovely warm pee trickling down my back.....twice! Was worth it though, so cool to have the baby vervet monkeys and baboons using me as a climbing frame, jumping on my head, cuddling in, whilst all the time baby Eli clings to your leg. Some of the poor little blighters aren't very well so are in seperate cages in clinic, their little eyes look so sad, it's a good job we're allowed to take them out throughout the day for big old hugs.

Tea was lush - meatballs, rice and cheesy veg. Went off to bed early, was proper bushwacked, but so was everyone else so I was nay alone. Thank goodness I was lent a mosquito net coz the bugs in Africa are mighty, mighty big, it's like one big security blanket, I'm trying to ignore the fact it doesn't tuck under my mattress properly. If it wasn't for them though I'd be tempted to wear a space suit to bed!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb