Week 1


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
March 6th 2009
Published: March 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and my DadMe and my DadMe and my Dad

Goodbye meal with Family
Hey guys sorry its a bit late, but here's what I got up to during my first week:

The plane journey was long, but then again that goes with out saying, what do you expect when you fly to South Africa on your own!
The heat hit me as soon as I got off the plane, it probably wasn't hot for South Africa, but when you're comparing it to the snow we've just had in the UK it was BOILING!
You wouldn't think it, but the heat made me feel much more tired than I actually was and for the first couple of days I felt like a Zombie.

Im staying with friends in Durban, who used to live opposite us in the UK, and who moved back to South Africa just over 2 years ago. They now have new addition to the family. He's called Tye and he's 5 months old. I Think he's one of the cutest things I've ever seen even when he's puking all over me. I think he saves the vomiting just for me, because no one else seems to get covered, lol... not that I mind.

Although I've been to South Africa
Me and my MumMe and my MumMe and my Mum

Goodbye meal with Family
before I've never been to a South African school. The school times and activities are very different to in the UK. The start at 7.45 in the morning, finish at 2 and then have after school clubs for 2 hrs. The builing is very basic, they still use chalk boards, but the atmosphere between the parents, the teachers and the students is much more laid back than in the UK.

I've been to the beach a couple of times and at the weekend stupidly forgot to put the suncream on under my shorts, so I now have very sexy short marks on my legs :p!! Unfortunately the sea was too rough for me to go surfing, but Cameron (a friend of the people I'm staying with) will hopefully take me next week.

It still hasn't hit me that I'm not going home for the next six months, I thought it would have by now. I guess its because I'm in a familiar place and I haven't really been on my own enough for it to sink in. That's not to say I dont miss everyone... its a strange feeling not being able to call you every 5 minutes
Me and Penny Me and Penny Me and Penny

Goodbye meal with family
or meet up for a drink/shopping trip. So dont worry I haven't fogotten about anyone :D

And thats about it for week 1...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Group hugGroup hug
Group hug

Goodbye meal with my friends
At the tableAt the table
At the table

Goodbye meal with my friends
Gala Gala
Gala

Have just arrived in South Africa and am watching Jason swim in his first proper gala
Tye...Tye...
Tye...

sooooo cute


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb