Opening Concert - waca waca


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
June 10th 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right first things first, shop to buy a sat nav!! Phew, one Hawkins issue sorted...

Next test the camping skills with a boy scout style chili cooked on the gas burner. Success! I deserve a badge for that one.

Highlight of the day, the opening concert. We manage to scam our way onto an Aussie tour bus to the park and ride near Soccer City. Then we get a shuttle to the Orlando Stadium in Soweto. I have managed to wangle an outer circle ticket instead of my nose bleed section seating, turns out though it wasn't needed. To get into the standing area you must have a wrist band, but the bloke giving them out, not only doesn't check your ticket he also doesn't take it away so everyone around us gets the wrist band and continues to the front of the stadium. I have purchased a brilliant, huge England flag complete with pole so wave this in a frenzy attracting English supporters from all around the stadium. Also helps me to get onto the TV, as my crazy wig doesn't seem to be enough... Before 8pm there are a number of African singers and bands, then when the TV coverage begins the local acts are separated by US stars, Black Eyed Peas, John Legend, Alicia Keyes and the finale Shakira, waca waca!! I manage the usual trick of getting a bloke to put me on his shoulders, this nearly ends with the death of me and the Aussie though as he staggers backwards with me unbalanced flying my flag, maybe we should have tried this earlier in the evening when more sober... Leaving the stadium is where the night turns into chaos, we seem to get a different shuttle each! I find Hawkins at the park and ride but can't find our Aussie tour coach. We wait for an hour in the freezing cold but no sight of anyone, the fact that South African's also wear green and gold does not help matters at all. Finally I find the coach but have lost Hawkins... The Aussies slowly find the coach over the next hour but no-one can find Hawkins so we have to leave. After the bus to the hotel and then a taxi to our campsite we finally sneak in at 3am, cold and tired. No sign of Hawkins, but he appears at 8am from some night escapade with numerous taxis and a wait in the airport...



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb