The Beginning


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It didn't feel real until now.

When I got my acceptance letter from AIFS, when I was running all around UVM campus filing for the SAAF, when I received my study permit, Even when I got on the plane from Washington Dulles to Johannesburg. Even then, it didn't feel real; it felt like some strange dream about a scramblefuck to get everything done and ready by some imaginary due date.

Now, I am here. I am in Johannesburg. Now, it's real.

My mind is everywhere. I've been trying to get get used to the fact that its summer here, its about 75 degrees, its 7:20 PM here while it is only 11:20 AM back home, and that the sun was still up when we landed at about 6 PM. It's a strange feeling. It kind of feels like I just took a 15 hour long nap and suddenly, somewhere between me falling asleep and waking up, I arrived here in Africa.

This is my first introduction to where I will be living for the next 6 months.

Tomorrow, we are off to Botswana.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb