Back in Joburg


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
July 16th 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dirtier than I could imagine...Dirtier than I could imagine...Dirtier than I could imagine...

This doesn't come off! I have tried everything!
Back at Base Camp I had the longest shower of my life. By the end I was still not clean! Hit Maun for some lunch and then the airstrip for a flight over the Delta. We were advised it's a good idea to take the flight to get a different perspective. It was such a nice view and you actually see a lot of game because the plane actually flies very low. We saw giraffes, elephants, zebra, "the map of africa" (a lake), the mokoro station and the island we had stayed on from the plane. Karen wasn't feeling so well so the pilot took us easy on us but you can ask them to flip the plane and stuff (maybe next time). Back at the campsite for the night the girls decided to have a banana bake off on the camp fire with another tour. I've learnt how to cook heaps of stuff on the camp fire. Including how to light the fire! Without giving myself a wrap I would say I have become quite the camper. Before I hit the road I had slept in a tent once for one night and didn't really have a clue about camping.
Flying over the deltaFlying over the deltaFlying over the delta

Karen, me, Caroline, Allison and our little plane!
But now you could call me "Queen of the squat toilet", I can put a tent up quicker than you can say "Hakuna Matata." Anyways, the next morning we hit the road for the Khama Rhino Sanctuary. Am now a Rhino expert. They have 31 white rhinos and 1 black rhino. The camp was open (and freezing!). We had seen heaps of animals during the day on the game drive but just before we went to bed Wessel was explaining what rhinos sound like should we hear one and what we should do if you hear them near the tent. In the middle of the story he jumped out of his chair, the black rhino was standing about 15m from where we were sitting. Everybody absolutely crapped themselves. Wessel has had many altercations ie it's rammed and scratched his car (while he was asleep in it). It's hand raised and luckily is not agressive but still a little unnerving! We woke at 4:30 for a breakfast. Breakfast proved fun given that Wessel left the milk out and it froze but we had a very long day driving for the last push to Joburg.

We arrived in Joburg later than
The Banana bake off...The Banana bake off...The Banana bake off...

The Independent adjudicator to decide who's was better (a random drunk guy from the bar)
I hoped because it meant I missed Ellen, Lindsay and Rachel who had already left for the airport. But Juliana and Riaan were waiting for me! We had a great dinner and a great catch up. I have real friends in them and I hope I see them again one day in Mossel Bay!

I can't believe this part is over. On the overland trucks I covered something like 7,500kms. We visited Kenya, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Malawi, Zambia, Botswana and South Africa. When I think about everything I have seen and done, it's a bit like "Did that really happen?"

For the next leg, I'm back on my lonesome, the plan: to tackle Mozambique. My Portugese is non-existant and I don't really no what to expect but hopefully not too many 5am wake-ups!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

RhinoRhino
Rhino

I think I prefer seeing them from in the vehicle...
Hilda and IHilda and I
Hilda and I

My new found German friend...


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb