One more leg to go....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I finally made it to the Southern Hemisphere, about 9 hours later than I should have. My flight last night was delayed out of Ben Gurion due to a terrorist training activity (I kid you not) at the airport. The airline was kind enough to put us up in some pretty fancy digs down on Tel Aviv Beach, at the Carleton Hotel. It's kind of like the Ritz, but Israeli-fied. They gave us this humongous dinner at 2am, that nobody really particularly wanted, and I went to my room, a little too wound up to sleep.

I left Israel (finally) this morning at 9am, and the flight was long and uneventful except for the fact that it was full of Israelis and their children. The child in front of me unfurled a KITE on the trip (still not kidding) and nearly took my eye out with it. The parents just shrugged and said "what can I do?" in Hebrew of course, and they went to sleep. Screaming, crying children. My favorite part was when the little boy upended his pringles can on to my tray (and in my hair). It was a long 9 hours.

The scenery, I hate to say, was not that exciting. Africa looks a lot like the Negev. There are a few spots that are darker, but for the most part, it is all desert. I saw Lake Victoria as we passed over that though, and as we flew over the Red Sea, I saw Saudi Arabia in the distance. It looked sandy.

Once I got to the Joburg airport, I was immediately accosted by a porter who swept my bags away and carried them for me to the domestic terminal, which is really obscurely located. You have to go through the parking garage and down this construction-riddled corridor to get there. I have to say, if he hadn't helped me it would have taken a lot longer. I gave him $2 USD which seemed to make him very happy. My travel buddy, who was on my flight from Tel Aviv and is a sophomore at USC, however, got ripped off for $20.

So off I go, to my gate to get to Cape Town, where hopefully I will get into my apartment without a hitch. Here's hoping.

Advertisement



13th June 2007

fun fun fun
You journal entry was the highlight of our day which tells you what our day was, at least no kids with kites or pringles, but I told you that story of how I was once asked to see a kid on an El Al flight who got his penis bitten by another kid in flight. So you aint the only one who has a story. Hope you get to your destination intact and get everything together. Nadia wants the phone # of the speedo guy or the puppy.
13th June 2007

Terrorist training activity??? Oh man. Glad that you made it safely there! Hope you have a blast, good luck with the apartment! Miss you bunches!
14th June 2007

knowing how much you just *love* small children.. i can only imagine that the flight was pretty close to being your own personal hell. well.. maybe it would be worse for you if you had two small children on either side and the clintons in front and jimmy carter behind you offering some boiled p-nuts ;) ;) bwhwhahah. anyway... i'm glad you made it there safely.. and i'm loving the google map (?) of the distances/locations you've traveled!!) miss you but i know you'll have fun! xoxoxo
14th June 2007

ps - it's been raining here a TON.. all day today and then sporadically yesterday and the day before. i think florida is mourning the loss of you ;)
14th June 2007

So what is a terrorist training activity??? Ps- buy some dramamine for the flight back in like two months. pop a dramamine with a glass of wine, and the screaming children will no longer matter . . .. not that I have ever done that . . .. ;)
15th June 2007

You know, for everyone across the world that seems to hate America so much, they sure love our dolla dolla billz.
17th June 2007

F*^#ing Kids...
So I'm totally going to offend people by this comment I'm sure, but there's nothing worse than being on a long flight in between a bunch of bratty, crying, obnoxious kids, and parents that can't control them. It should be used as a sentence for petty crimes. If I were you Shylie, I probably would have A) took the pringles/kite from that kid and threw them behind me, B) asked the people tp move me or the kid, or C) stabbed myself in the eyeballs with the kid's kite and scream the whole flight. Grrr....I wish there were rules about kids and flying. Whatever happened to the utilitarian principle of what is best for the group as opposed to one person and their stupid kid? Argh.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb