On Safari


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
April 13th 2006
Published: April 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

You guessed it, at the mall again.You guessed it, at the mall again.You guessed it, at the mall again.

This is Menlyn Mall which is the largest mall in the Southern Hemisphere. A funny thing about this picture is that we were trying to find someone to take a photo of us when this asian lady asked us to take a picture of her.
This past weekend I went on Safari to Kruger National Park. This massive wildlife refuge (it's bigger than the Netherlands) was created in 1898 in response to the poaching and encroaching associated with the South African gold rush. It's hard to use words to describe my experience in this amazing preserve, so instead I will use mainly pictures. I would like to describe one experience I had on the way to the park, though, as the pictures don't really seem to do it justice. We left Pretoria at the god awful hour of 5 am so that we could make several stops along the way. One of these stops was at a zipline that stretched over a waterfall and the Blyde River Canyon. Now, I have been skydiving before so I didn't expect that a mere dangle 1000 feet from a harness would do much for me. I was wrong. As we walked up to the little outpost hugging the rocky cliffside, my heart started beating out of control and I suddenly became aware of everything that I had eaten in the past 24 hours. So, after a quick retreat to the bathroom, I made my approach again. I stood in
The Barter ZoneThe Barter ZoneThe Barter Zone

Sidewalks are lined up with vendors like these at every tourist stop. What one starts to notice is that they all sell the exact same masks and figurines. Yet when questioned they each insist that their uncle joe or aunt sally carved them by hand up in the hills of Mpumulonga. In my search for something unique, I ended up buying this rather rudimentary mask that looks like it has fetal alcohol syndrome that obviously was not made in a factory.
line to buy my ticket, shivering more out of nerves than chill, and made the necessary small talk with the attendant. I was "freezing" in the shade of the ticket stand and was relieved to get out into the sun with my little ticket of death. I was fitted with the harness, a real wedgie trap, and stood in line as I was one of the last ones to go. As I stood there, my brain raced through some of the most esoteric topics on the planet (like what does life mean, if I were dying of cancer would I waste away in a hospital bed or take a flying leap off a bridge, why do they still have Tab in Europe and South Africa, and countless others) but everytime I opened my mouth my speach became more rudimentary. I found I was only capable of a series of caveman like grunts, the thumbs up sign, and a Pauly Shore-like littany of "that's awesome, was it awesome, so awesome". As I approached the sloping wooden planks that served as runway for us human 747's, I went into primal mode. Much like my skydiving experience several years before, my movements became
Goin Jamaican with the South AfricansGoin Jamaican with the South AfricansGoin Jamaican with the South Africans

Jayson, Clay, and I hanging out with some Vaales (term used for the pale white people of this area) at Cool Runnings. The two Africans are Nardus (a senior medical student) and his girlfriend Toinette (a future medical student). I was introduced to the world of Absinthe in the form of the green goblin shot here, but sadly unlike Hemingway, was not inspired to write a masterpiece afterwards.
robotic without any thinking. The only part of my brain working was that animalistic region designed for action (and sniffing butts, but luckily the opportunity never presented itself). And then I slowly built up my speed, taking in the slack of the rope before making my acceleration so as to avoid the jerky recoil I had seen with my comrades and then I threw my arms open, kicked my legs back and yelled "geronimo" as the ground beneath my feet disappeared. I soared over the canyon as gracefully as an intoxicated chicken and then reached the other side with my own momentum. As I was pulled back across by pulley, I had a birds eye view of the gorgeous waterfull that fell by the takeoff point. I have a handheld video of the whole experience, ask me someday and I'll show you. Now, on to the photos.
My only other comment was on the way that South Africans approach the park. There are rest areas where they get out and grill their pork bangers (sausages) and chat and act like they are at a family reunion or something. Yet there are no barriers preventing the wildlife from getting out
The Drakensburg MountainsThe Drakensburg MountainsThe Drakensburg Mountains

Some scenery on the way to the park in the province of Mpumalanga.
and charging. A stories abound of leopards pulling people off of bridges, crocs attacking in shallow waters, and lions eating groups of tourists. Still they barbeque. And some of my friends here like to go to the private reserves because they feel the Kruger has regulations that are too strict. They just go camping in tents while hyenas ect come sniffing up looking for free meals and stealing tennis shoes left lying around.
They say that a picture is worth a thousand words so here is my Tolstoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

In the JungleIn the Jungle
In the Jungle

We traveled through so many ecosystems in the few hundred miles of our journey. This picture was taken in a rain forest that had sprouted up due to constant rising moisture from the Blyde River Canyon floor. Jake, Tif, and I.
The Pot HolesThe Pot Holes
The Pot Holes

The Blyde River has worn grooves and pot holes from the whirlpools and falls in this area of rock.
The Three RondawelsThe Three Rondawels
The Three Rondawels

Literally the "three huts". This beautiful geological formation in the side of the canyon produced by years of wear and tear offered the most spectacular view I have ever seen. I sat here by myself for as long as I could just absorbing the majestic beauty. It was nice to feel so insignificant.
Another view from the RondawelsAnother view from the Rondawels
Another view from the Rondawels

Sam, Jayson, and I as touristy as ever.
Hanging by a ThreadHanging by a Thread
Hanging by a Thread

This is the view that I had when coming back across the zip line (foofie line as they say here which honestly takes all the rugged manliness out of the experience).
GiraffesGiraffes
Giraffes

I love watching the giraffes move. They have a gentleness about them that is out of character for something so large. They also have the exact same number of vertebrae (7) as are found in the human neck.
More GiraffeMore Giraffe
More Giraffe

Another interesting giraffe fact: Their brains would explode from the blood pressure generated in it when leaning down to drink water (think hanging upside down times 10) but thanks to specialized valves that prevent back flow, they are able to drink without difficulty.
The Baobab TreeThe Baobab Tree
The Baobab Tree

This massive tree is an icon of South Africa. Our favorite restaurant here is named after this tree.
Cape BuffaloCape Buffalo
Cape Buffalo

One of the "Big 5", a list of the big, dangerous animals in Africa. There is small revolutionary movement of us American students, currently underground, to have the hippo replace the Cape Buffalo on the Big 5.
The herdThe herd
The herd

In large herds like this the buffalo are actually quite harmless, so our tour guide, Tieni would have us believe.
The Verver MonkeyThe Verver Monkey
The Verver Monkey

One of two primates that roam the park. These little guys seem to love putting on acrobatic shows in the trees alongside the roads.
The Laughing HyenaThe Laughing Hyena
The Laughing Hyena

Don't let the name fool you. These animals are far from jovial. They are actually extremely aggressive, especially the females which are larger than the males. They are also extremely ugly with their hind legs being much shorter than their back legs they are the Quasimodo of the animal kingdom.
Dressing the TreeDressing the Tree
Dressing the Tree

No, it's not Christmas time in the Kruger. This Impala was placed high up in the branches of this tree by a leopard. The leopard was most likely hiding in the grass near the tree letting the first part of it's meal settle before coninuing on. However, if a pride of lions were to stumble upon this kill, they would not think twice to steal it from the leopard.
The Plains ZebraThe Plains Zebra
The Plains Zebra

Another one of my favorites, these vibrantly colored animals are very much like shortish fat horses. No two zebras have the exact same pattern of stripes.
Do these stripes make me look fat?Do these stripes make me look fat?
Do these stripes make me look fat?

There is actually a benefit for the stripes these zebras have. They are herd animals and when running together from a predator they appear to be a single large mass making it difficult for the lion to pick out a single victem. The kick of a zebra can also prove fatal to a lion as a broken jaw makes it impossible for the lion to eat and thus he starves.
The Blu GnuThe Blu Gnu
The Blu Gnu

Down here in the Kruger these wildebeast are somewhat scarce, but up in Kenya hundreds of thousands congregate in a great migration on the Serengeti.
Pride RockPride Rock
Pride Rock

These lionesses were sunning themselves on a rock. Lions actually sleep most of the day (20+ hours) and only hunt on a weekly basis.


14th April 2006

This is fantastic!
Such an amazing experience. Thanks for sharing. :)
14th April 2006

wow what amazing pictures! i can't believe how many cool things you are getting to do! the zip line sounds fun...i did something like that at summer camp but we weren't flying off of a cliff and we didn't have a waterfall, just a slide, so i'm guessing your experience topped mine!
14th April 2006

oops
sorry the last comment about the summer camp zip line was mine, i forgot to put my name.
14th April 2006

Awesome
Breck, I enjoy so much your blogs and the pics. they make me laugh and feel as though I'm there. Thank you for sending them to me ! Noelle (your LA. landlord)
17th April 2006

Zoo Life- unplugged
Breck, these are wonderful photos. Thank you for taking the time to share them. I love reading about your time in Africa. You'll really appreciate all these journal entries a few years from now.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb