Day 10: A Long Night and a Long Day


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
April 17th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After yesterday's long drive, I was really looking forwards to today's 6 hour walk in the Drakensberg. Sadly, it wasn't to be as I was struck down with major leaking from both ends at about 19h00 last night. All through the night, I communed with nature being unable even to keep water down or in.

Come morning, I lay there very sorry for myself but decided that a mug of Rooibos with two sugars would be good. Not so. I communed with nature again!

Whilst the others went off for their walk, I sat in the sun attempting to drink water and, after being free for 3 hours decided to walk down to the entrance block where there was a shop. I took the scenic route across country and arrived at the shop totally exhausted. What should have taken 20 minutes took me over half an hour! Here, I purchased a water ice and a (small) bottle of Coke. The Dutch doctor on the trip reckons that with the sugar, caffeine and water content, Coke is perfect for rehydration - and, for some reason, stays down.

During the afternoon, the wind rose, which was perfect for keeping the drinks cold but not good for me as the temperature dropped. But, after some 18 hours of being unwell, I'm delighted to report that the last 6 have been free. However, I'll just watch the others eating this evening and may even retire to my tent and sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb