All that foam is whale piss


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
August 12th 2012
Published: August 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Waking up to the sound of rain on a tin roof is much more comforting to me than it is to most people. Unfortunately that does mean that the day will bite the big one because we wont have any animal time. I had to walk to the restaurant in the rain because there was no break and when you get there you just have to try to wait out the rain. It was basically impossible to wait out the rain because it never stopped. We actually ate breakfast before we were able to go out to see the animals. While eating, Tams said that since it was supposed to continue raining all day we could go to the mall. It was some people's last full day so they didn't want to go, but I certainly didn't want to sit in the restaurant all day, so I decided to go, I don't have that much money left so I figured I could just go and watch a movie.

I walk back down to the cabin because Katrina is bed ridden since she hurt her back moving all that chicken yesterday but I know she has to pick up a money wire. She was hurting too bad to come to the mall, plus it was Sunday so the place was probably going to be closed anyway. Ashley was the one that was driving us this time, instead of Delano, and man was it hilarious. He kept dancing and he put his head up and pretended to be ghetto. He also showed us the main road that was flooded because we are having the second worst winter in SA's history. Much of SA is actually getting snow. Ashley said that people were actually jetskiing on the flooded road. We tried to get him to drive through it, but he wouldn't. Major bummer.

When Ashley dropped us off at the mall, he actually came in with us, but he wanted us to walk in front of him so that no one would think he was with us so I walked really slow and was like, hey, you have red hair, people could think you're my dad. He didn't find that very funny.

This time at the mall, I actually bought a scarf that I wanted. It's bright yellow, and has absolutely nothing to do with SA, so I think I might stitch an SA into a corner or something like that. Everyone had gone off in different directions so some people found Meghan and I and we all went searching for the others so we could decide on the movie. Ashley was coming back at 2 to pick us up and people didn't want to stay any longer than that so we had to ask the attendant if there were any movies ending before 2. There were only 2. I forget the other option, but we had chosen to see Brave which would end 5 minutes before 2.

We all decided to eat before the movie and chose to go to the pizza place. Since there were 10 of us, we found a buddy and each pair shared a movie. Meghan and I shared a steak and onion pizza. It was good, but there was too much BBQ sauce, so I didn't love it. The pizza took so long that we missed the beginning of the moive! We had sat down an hour and a half before the movie should have began. Once we knew it was going to take too long, we decided to take our time and eat. We then went to the grocery store because people needed food and boos. We all then went searching for an imaginary souvenir shop for a good 30 minutes and no one could find it. I think the lady at the info desk was lying to us.

On the way home I asked Ashley if we could go swimming, I didn't really want to but I did want to go to the beach. The waves were so gorgeous today because of all of the wind and rain. We didn't actually go swimming but he took us along the beach for a long drive. We also stopped at one point that was so pretty. He said you used to be able to just walk off into the ocean, but the rain this winter wiped that away so it's just a big dropoff now. He also pointed out that the road we were driving on will probably be washed away soon because we can already see the side is cracking. There are a bunch of rocks along the shore that the water was crashing on so there was a lot of foam. Ashley tried telling us that the foam was whale piss because whale watching season just began.

We all got back from the mall in time for some animal time which was nice because it cleared up a bit. Plus there were no handlings because it was crappy all day. So I went and sat in with the lions, I wanted to go to the hyenas, but there weren't enough people to go in at that point. The bad part of it raining is that the ground is always so wet when you try to sit to pet the babies that you're butt gets so much wet sand on it. It's worth it though, so I always do it anyway 😊 After that I went up to the restaraunt to wait til food prep. I should have been on meat prep today, but I went to the mall instead. Oh well. It was wicked easy anyway because we had all that chicken. All we have to do for basically the next month is weigh different amounts of chicken and cut ribs. The people who didn't go to the mall were able to do meat prep just fine.

Since I was on lions, I had to go in to try and hold them back from the gate while we let the tigers in. I was trying to hold Jason by the scruff, but he didn't like that so he turned and scratched my hand. It's not that bad, just a cut basically.

I made a cheese toastie for dinner and headed on down. Once everyone else made their way down, the boys decided they got to watch a manly movie tonight since they watched the Notebook last night. They chose Remember the Titans, which was fine because it's an amazing movie. We also watched This Means War afterwards, but I didn't get to watch all of it because I was too tired, so off to bed I went!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb