Week one completed


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Using the internet cafe is quite slow and we are a bit late tonight. The school day is not late but the travelling back is slow in a minibus that takes all the volunteers who are at other schools and a commuity centre. We are the furthest out so the last drop off in the morning and the first pick up in the evening. We are not all staying in the same place and tonight we were last to be dropped off. WE did manage to get over on the beach as the weather improved midweek and it is warm and sunny and the sea is 22 degrees. It is a big stretch of sandy beach and the best body surfing I have had for years. I think I am considered a bit mad but I love it.

I am really enjoying the school now I have settled in. Things don't happen quickly here. I think they have developed patience and they don't do rushing or exertion except when there is music or someone starts to sing. Then everyone moves to the rhythm. I am working in the foundation phase with children who have not yet started formal English for the first two weeks and then with those who have just started for the second two weeks. I take a small group of six and they work really well and love it. I think I push them harder than they are used to but we have fun. The classes are big and differentiation is a new ides and not yet implemented. One of them said "English is good" of his own accord this morning so I felt very happy. The second group had to be pushed out for lunch when all the others in the class had gone. I am working in the classroom and the teachers are observing how I do it. It is wonderful to be working with children again. I had forgotten how much fun it can be and small groups are lovely.

The children get fed as part of a scheme as some of them clearly do not have enough to eat. Some get a diet supplement like complan mid morning and they all get great slabs of bread and jam out of a large bucket for lunch. They are very tidy and happy and well behaved but some do not have shoes. They live in cirumstances which we can't imagine. They love having their photos taken and greet you warmly. We have been invited to visit some homes next week.

The government has a huge programme of building houses and they get the shell and land free but have to do them up and pay for electricity. To put it in perspective, they are breezeblock and similar in size to a large garage or our wooden building in the back. As fast as they build new people appear and rebuild the tin shacks. Some come from the rural areas and some from other African countries. The build on the flood plains as they may get rehoused quicker.

On a lighter note, we have been invited to visit a shebeen tomorrow night. One of the Calabash workers plays the marimba and is apprently very good. I am hoping for some dancing. On Sunday we have a free trip to the Addo elephant park. I am also planning to buy a cheap boogie board over the weekend. I have managed one convert to body surfing and another couple to paddling in the sea amongst the other volunteers.

I am taking photos but I have not got time to work out how to insert them as I cam with some friends. It is the sort of experience that it is good to be sharing and talking about. I look forward to making you all listen to me when I get home.

The African culture is very huggy so expect it.

Sue





Advertisement



22nd February 2008

Sounds like fun to me
Hello Sue, Your first week sounds like fun, but also seems like a real culture shock, what with the lack of resources and to hear how the people live without things like shoes. When you get home you will be dancing all the time while you are telling us about your time there. On South Today, (local news prog) this week they have been showing a school in Africa, which will be suported by Sport Relief financially. They seem to do a lot of singing and dancing during lesson time and there must be about 60 children in the room. It is really interesting hearing all about your trip, keep on with the blog, it is great. Love Chris H x
23rd February 2008

Hi mum, Sounds like you are enjoying yourself - I can't belive you are off to buy a boogeyboard - brilliant!. No real news to report here, Kevin is coming down to Bristol this morning to join in on the go karting action. I need to finish organising everyone - keep me in the loop
23rd February 2008

Impressive site!
Hi GREAT to read your blog - sounds incredibly interesting - is there anyway we can help from our end ie send school supplies, books, toilitries etc? All is well here - more snow last night and more on the way - body surfing sounds like fun? watch out for white sharks!?
23rd February 2008

Hi
Body surfin in off the African coast is my idea of volunteering...;) I'm finally on your blog. Kevin xx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb