Not there yet


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 8th 2008
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I thought I had better get some blogging practice in before I leave. February 16th suddenly seems very close and I keep looking at the things I want to take, the size of my case and the weight allowance and expecting a miracle.

I am hoping to travel with one fellow volunteer from the airport. I already feel I am starting to make connections with some of the new people I am going to meet. I have lots of pieces of information about the area, the school where I will be a volunteer and the context but it is a patchwork which doesn’t yet fit together. My biggest anxiety is about being useful when I arrive.

I have been collecting teaching resources which might be useful. Thanks for the contributions from friends. I also seem to have spent a lot of time researching on the internet. Thanks for all the suggestions.

I have been racing through Nelson Mandela’s autobiography suggested as homework/preparation. I am so glad that there are maps as an inside cover. I keep checking where all the places are in relation to Port Elizabeth which gets lots of mentions. I found some old school reports and geography was always my worst subject.



Advertisement



12th February 2008

Bon Voyage (or the SA equivalent)
Hello Sue, All the very best for your trip to South Africa. You will be a great asset to them and they will probably want you to stay forever! Love from Chris H x
13th February 2008

not there yet
Hi Sue, good luck, will we be able to stay in touch through this site while you are away? you will find plenty of ways to be useful, just be yourself, and enjoy the xperience. AlsonA
14th February 2008

Hi Sue
Good luck for this new venture!! x Rose
15th February 2008

Stay Save
Hi Sue My final nag before you leave ..... knowing how accident prone you can be, be careful, hope you have packed a first aid kit in your hand luggage :) Enjoy yourself, I am sure this will be a truely memorable experience for you. Michelle

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb