The End of O Week


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Grahamstown
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

???

Haven't learned this plant yet, but it's pretty awesome
The weather the past few days hasn't been as great as the first couple. It was sunny and warm at first, but now its gray and rainy. It doesn't get too cold though so I'm not complaining. And the rain has been more like a mist, kind of like standing near a big waterfall.

I've been doing a lot of running around to different academic departments the past few days for registration. It takes a lot longer than just signing up online, but it's cool because you get to meet a lot of the faculty in the process. Right now I'm signed up for classes in Geography, Environmental Science, Botany, and Zoology. I'll probably drop a few of them though. I brought my camera with me to the Botany department, and pulled up pictures of trees to ask what they were haha. Even if I end up dropping the botany course they seem nice enough there that I would go back to ask more questions.

Yesterday I went to this Amazing Race event on campus, designed to help new students get to know Rhodes. I was on a team with 3 other girls from my hall, and we all had to wear pink (thank god I packed one pink shirt with me haha). We were given a sheet of paper with about 15 clues for places on campus we had to go to. Once you figured out where to go, you had to do tasks at a lot of the places to get stickers on your paper. It was like a big scavenger hunt and I loved it. At the library we had to do a sudoku, at St. Peter’s chapel we had to do karate kicks and sit-ups, and in the botanical gardens we had to play a song on African drums. Our last location was at the pool, where we had to jump in with our clothes on and swim across carrying a ball. While it was a surprise, it felt good because we were pretty hot from racing around, and luckily I was wearing appropriate clothes haha. We ended up coming in first for girls, and beat a lot of boys too, so tonight at the school's street carnival we’re supposed to be getting some sort of prize.

I've been hanging out at this place called the Old Gaol a lot lately. It's pronounced "jail" and that's actually what it used to be. It's a bar/backpackers hostel and a pretty chill place. Last night was horizontal stripes themed, so if you dressed in theme you got 2 for 1 beer. There were a couple bands playing outside in one of the courtyards, and a spit braai where an impala was being cooked. My friend Diverche (she's Dutch and I know I'm not spelling that right) said she went with the hostel owner and picked out the impala from a game farm while it was still alive! I tasted a bit of it - it wasn't too bad, just really tough.

Serenading is over, and this carnival tonight is the last event of orientation week. Lectures start on Monday, my first one is at 7:45am. They've actually had to alter the class schedules because of the scheduled power outages. We lost it for a little while today, and I had to leave the grocery store without buying anything because the registers weren't working. But it really hasn't been too much of a problem this past week.

Random Pictures

Advertisement



10th February 2008

that impala (?) looks really gross. it's cool you tried it though - you might as well, haha. and the trees are really awesome looking, i can't wait to see more pictures! good luck on your first week of classes! i miss you!
12th February 2008

i miss you/you rock
sounds like life is amazing...glad to see you got a few pics up...even if one is a dead animal roasting over a fire : ) sorry I keep missing you online, but I love getting the IM's so keep 'em coming. miss you kid.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb