Preparation by someone who forgot how to have fun.


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » East London
March 23rd 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Planned but nothing more


Naby Piri DamNaby Piri DamNaby Piri Dam

Die eerste trip saam mert Tommie. Hogsback met 'n ompad. Naby Piri Dam
No wonder it took me so long to get to the point where I am doing this bike trip into Moz Country.

During my younger years I would probably have landed in some big mess as a result of ruthlessness and poor / no planning and I think God protected me from that.

Now it is the opposite and kind of less fun. I tried to prepare so well that I had to stop and tell my self that this is an adventure, not a project at work.

Research on the internet brought me to the thought that there are so many lists of what to take with that you should actually create a database to find only the common items in all the lists.

Further analysis paralysis resulted in a very interesting list, based on the possibility of 3 bikes going on the trip. I will publish it at some stage and would then like to give the revised version after the trip.

Searching the net, I found the information from MozMan (Google it, or go to www.mozguide.com/ ) very intersting and informative. This is the most consolidated site for Mozambique travel planning.

Planning,
Monument uit Lenox Sebe se tydMonument uit Lenox Sebe se tydMonument uit Lenox Sebe se tyd

Die monument le op die Sandile Roete naby Keiskama Hoek.
planning, planning ..................

Goodness graciouse, I have become too scared to leave room for any surprises.

With all the tools available at our fingertips today, we can plan risk free trips and if we spend enough money on gadgets we can do it in the same comfort we have at home. Nothing wrong with that, but I had to ask my self the question, "why am I doing this". The answer, "to gratify the explorer spirit I inherited from my European forefathers". Doing this successfully requires at least something unknown and if I would continue to research and plan in this manner, there would be nothing left to explore.

After all, the experiences we have during such trips are very much based on our attitudes, the time of the year, the company we have, the food, wine and / or beer, the weather, etc.

Dr. Livingstone did not have a GPS, T4A, Internet, a Travel Clinic and all the information we have today. I am going to stop planning now and start to enjoy it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hoogste puntHoogste punt
Hoogste punt

Hoogste punt tussen Hogsback en Oos Londen


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb