Durban to Coffee Bay


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Coffee Bay
August 25th 2015
Published: September 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I only spent two nights in Durban tryin to run down the coast....My newly appointed goal is to reach Cape Town by the 6th of September to join a body boarding workshop and development thingy with my friend from cape town. I grabbed some board shorts at a factory outlet store and then the best bunny chow in all of South Africa. I say this because it is pretty much a curry stuffed inside a quarter loaf of bread. Aaaaaaand Durban hosts the largest Indian population in the world outside of India. So they might know a thing or two about curry. That's about all I did besides enjoying braai night at the hostel where I just had to bring some meat. The bread was good, the salad was good, and my "21 day lazy aged" steaks were good too; whatever that type of aging is! I took the Intercape bus down to Umtata in the Transkei area. Also learned that Intercape is called the Jesus bus by the locals and it made sense because we watched about 4 Christian message lifetime movies....blurg. But I made it 😊



The Transkei are used to be its own location before the Apartheid era as well as the few years before things got sorted out. Now it’s a remote location with lots of Xhosa culture and a vibe that attracts and does not let go! Very relaxed place where I found myself enjoying nothing during the day and a chill atmosphere between the few backpackers and local joints around town. The next day after arrival I did get to partake in an 8 km hike to the Hole in the Wall. It is the name of a town as well as an actual hole in the wall…Naturally made by a river that flows strong enough to cut a hole in a wall or a cliff or something to make a scenic travel destination. The next day was spent enjoying a bunch more nothing before deciding to catch a bus to Jeffreys Bay. I woke up bright and early at 5am and decided leaving wasn’t for me……… I actually got super lucky and found out two Austrian guys were leaving the next day in the am at the same time I originally wanted to! So I made a usual easy day of it but had a trip to a Xhosa village for dancing and traditional fooooooood. Yum was the food….YAY was the beer! It was a sorghum beer of sorts made for ceremonial uses and apparently there are a lot of ceremonies that this beer needs brewing for. Hehehe. Yay culture! A very nice end to a wonderful time in this especially smooth area. Nice to get away from it all and relax for a bit. :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb