Sponsored walk


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
July 17th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

also had the foresight to swap to water sometime in the evening, seeing as though we were up at 8am to do a sponsored walk- I wasn’t about to repeat my mistake of the week before. Our friend ‘N’ has been raising money for the hospital in Guatemala where she spent a year’s sabbatical and we were helping out by taking part in the walk.

A few hours sleep and we were up and out and in school where we then had to wait about 40 minutes ( I could have been in bed longer!) before we started. We walked from the school, up to Bel Air and then through Le Niol and down the road linking Beau Vallon to Victoria. We managed to lose some of them and confusingly met them later on with them in front of us - eh? Apparently, we should have taken a short cut to avoid walking on the blind corners, so we risked life and limb while the others made like they were on a sunday stroll.

Feeling brave the other one and I decided to run the last kilometre (was probably about 6km in total) and it nearly killed me. I collapsed in the staff room and eagerly looked forward to the lunch that one of the participants had kindly committed to bringing. It was Spaghetti Bolognaise and Coronation Chicken sandwiches. I tried not to look to glum as I tucked into plain spaghetti and cheese. Still, it’s all for the cause.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0972s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb