Am I really back in Africa after 10 years? I flew into Dakar of Senegal


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
October 26th 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This year I decided to skip Latin America and try to make this year's trip more of an adventure. I had been thinking about going back to Southeast Asia or Africa. I decided on West Africa since I traveled throughout the South and East of Africa 10 years ago. I knew that West Africa would be more of challenge with it seeing far less tourists and without a tourist route. Also, almost all of the countries speak French or a local African dialect.

I arrived in the capital city of Senegal on the 23rd of October with a direct flight from New York. It seems that I am the only tourist getting off the plane at Dakar with everyone staying on the plane to go to Cape Town, South Africa. First impressions of Dakar? It is very hot and humid with the city keeping the heat inside even when it cools off at night. I did not expect to see so much sand and such little green. The only grass I saw in my first week was at the Independence Park right downtown. The city seems to operate somehow in its chaotic state with no traffic lights anywhere in the city. With it being Friday many of the locals are in their traditional Muslim clothes as they visit the mosques on Fridays. I guess I should have expected a more Islamic presence in most parts of Senegal.

Walking the city during the early part of the morning before the heat arrives is a pleasure as it is on a peninsula and I can stop at the beach to catch my breathe. However, downtown the beggars and touts come out late morning and I am constantly asked to buy something or a hand is reached out asking me for money. My French is so basic that I can not understand them unless they speak some English. The funny thing is almost everyone assumes I am French or European as probably 85% of the foreigners here are French.

I was lucky to be staying with a family from the States who has lived the last 8 years in the Senegal. Their place was located 30 minutes outside the city center in a middle class neighborhood. This is great because I could walk all over the neighborhood without any hassles so I can get a break from the downtown area. Sineta and her son Johnathan were extremely helpful in showing me the ins and outs of the city including transportation. Once I got my bearings Dakar was not such a bad place, but I much prefer the smaller cities and villiages in Africa. After 3 nights in Dakar I have gotten my visa for Mali which is the next country I plan to visit so I am ready for my next destination.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb