Bandia animal reserve


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
August 5th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

our adventure beginsour adventure beginsour adventure begins

This is me in the jeep with my friend's son, our tour guide and two other friends.
Hey guys!
My African adventure is coming to an end. My last month here I have been feverishly trying to see as much as I can of the country before I return to the good ol' U. S. of A!
Last weekend I took a trip to Bandia animal reserve which is a bit more than an hour's drive outside of the city. I had such a good time and took literally hundreds of pictures! I don't have room to post them all here but I made sure to include a lot of the good stuff.
We had an awesome guide who let us get out of our jeep and walk around the reserve. We walked right up to giraffes that were so beautiful and majestic. I was struck completely silent! I took lots of pictures with them and then somewhere in the midst of my snapping I realized that if one of the giraffes just so much as lifted one of his graceful legs he could kick me straight into the sweet hereafter! I started making my way back to the jeep 😊
I got up close and personal with a couple of rinos too, but that meeting almost didn't
crossing overcrossing overcrossing over

We are just at the start of the rainy season. The river was flooded which made for a "fun" off-road experience!
turn out as well. There were two rinos. One was sick and the other was hanging out with his ailing homeboy. They were cool and calm so we all started taking pictures of them and with them. I had just walked up to one - maybe about 5 feet away - and was posing for my picture when....
All of a sudden I heard this loud snort and felt the earth beneath my feet and turned just in time to see this rinos massive foot come crashing down to the ground. He started shaking his head back and forth and snorting. I guess he wasn't feeling very photogenic! I didn't stick around to find out though. You never saw a pair of New Balance sneakers move so fast! Afterwards people were asking me if I used to run track!!
We spent about 2 hours out on the reserve looking at the animals and the beautiful Baobab trees. These trees are HUGE and can live as long as 1,000 years. They grow in Africa and India and many believe that the Tree of Life in the Bible was actually a Baobab. They grow a sweet, strange fruit that is used for food and medicine. It is said to have the ability to heal all illnesses. Historically in Senegal the trees served an even greater purpose as a final resting place for Griots, oral historians who are famous for literally walking around and singing history. The closest Western reference I can think of would be a town crier, but the Griot is much more stately and elegant.
After we saw all of the animals, we had lunch by the lake which was swollen with muddy rainwater and crocodiles! It was a truly amazing trip!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

monkeymonkey
monkey

The monkeys were too fast to get pics of! But there were two little monkey babies who were wrestling with each other. They were about the size of newborn infants! Too cute!!!
out on the reserveout on the reserve
out on the reserve

How beautiful is this?!
birdsbirds
birds

There were so many beautifully colored birds !
horse gazelleshorse gazelles
horse gazelles

That's what they call them here. They are HUGE!
buffalobuffalo
buffalo

These were some mean looking dudes!
They are checking us out!They are checking us out!
They are checking us out!

My friend, Awa, me, and my other friend's son.
rinorino
rino

This little guy wasn't feeling so good.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb