Dakar


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
January 11th 2005
Published: January 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ile de GoreeIle de GoreeIle de Goree

Statue - The Liberation of the Slaves
I am now in Dakar, the capital of Senegal. I left Saint-Louis on Sunday morning.



When getting the taxi to the Gare for Dakar, I had to bargain, one taxi driver tried to charge 3 times the going rate. At the Station they asked the going rate for the journey but tried to charge me 500 francs for the rucksack. I refused, so instead of taking a collective taxi to Dakar I ended up in a mini bus. Thinking about it I was arguing over very small amounts of money - 500 francs is 50 pence sterling.



Having opted for the cheaper mini bus I then had to wait an hour for the bus to leave. They don't leave until they are full - and full means over full. The minibus would have been comfortable with 24 passengers on it, they packed 36 in!



The journey was fairly uneventful but took about 5 and a half hours. That meant I got into Dakar at about 6pm. I also noticed at the end of the trip someone taking down 3 live goats from the roof of the bus. They had tied the goats legs together and tied them to the roof!



In Dakar I told the taxi to go to a budget hotel, as I didn't want to wander around Dakar with a backpack - the city has a reputation for street crime. But the budget hotel was full. So, I asked them for another hotel. They told me where it was, so I tried there - also full. At this stage I was a bit worried because it wasn't long before it would be dark.



I was though in the centre of the city near the Place de Independence. I could see a multi storey hotel - so I tried there. It was the Hotel Independence - definitely not a budget option. It's posted prices were 50000 for a single but they have charged me 35000 - that's 35 pounds. The place has a swimming pool.



Yesterday I didn't do that much - I just relaxed and got my bearings in the city.



This morning I set out for the Isle de Goree, which is a volcanic rock ten minutes ferry ride from Dakar. It is a world heritage site, so has had some money spent on it. It was also for hundreds of years a place where Africans where held before being put on boats and spent abroad as slaves.



On the way to the ferry I bumped into Patrick and Nat just outside the hotel!



I spent the day on the Isle de Gore, visiting the slave house and the museum. At the end of the day I also visited the IFAN museum in Dakar. The number of masks and statues was more than I could take in.



In the internet cafe, writing this I also met Patrick again. The lads were staying in a budget hotel just around the corner. They are in one of the hotels that was full on Sunday evening.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DakarDakar
Dakar

Hotel de Independence
DakarDakar
Dakar

View of centre


Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 31; qc: 150; dbt: 0.2314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb