Isle de Ngor


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post



I know I haven't written in FOREVER! I have been just enjoying life in Africa. It seems like I've finally fallen into a routine here. I have students that I tutor in English in private sessions during the week. On the weekends I volunteer at a local church teaching a small group of eager students to read and write English. I promise a blog about them because they are just amazing! My French has come back to me full force now! I'm able to go to the bank, the market and everywhere by myself! I am really proud. All those years of studying French did not go to waste! The time here has just flown by. I can't believe May is almost over. I have just over 3 months before I leave this beautiful country and I want to make sure that I experience as much of it as I possibly can before I leave.
Just before Easter I had the chance to take a much needed “mini vacation” to the Island of Ngor. This place is less than a 10 minute taxi ride from where I live but it is a little piece of paradise popular with the locals, ex-pats and tourists. I get motion sickness quite easily so I was not looking forward to the brief motored canoe ride from the mainland over to the island. I forgot to take my Dramamine and our little boat - thanks to its construction - seemed to be taking on more water than passengers. Needless to say, I was absolutely terrified. I kept looking around in sheer wonder at the stunning beauty of nature and thinking to myself, ‘Wow, what an absolutely beautiful day to drown.’
Alas, I made it to shore safely and began the trek to the private resort where I would spend the day relaxing and eating amid the natural splendor with my West African bestie, Awa, and another friend. We took a walking tour around the tranquil little island and then spent most of our time at the beach where I was able to indulge in my favorite seaside pastime - searching for seashells.
Unfortunately, there is no photography allowed inside the resort, but I was able to snap away on the boat ride over and on the beach. I had the most hilarious conversation with an adorable little 6-year-old Senegalese boy dressed only in board shorts, flip flops and a camouflage kerchief tied on his head who called himself “Le Generale” (as in the Army). I also found some nice seashells and at the end of the day saw a huge, friendly pelican. I don’t know if pelicans are normally affable or if this particular bird just likes humans, but my camera battery died just as I was trying to get a shot of it playing catch with a toddler!



Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Safety first!Safety first!
Safety first!

I may be smiling but I'm dying inside!! I'm HORRIFIED of water and am not especially excited about traversing a major ocean in this little canoe-like boat!!!
view from the boatview from the boat
view from the boat

I don't know if you can really tell but the boat is really deep. The side of the boat was nearly at the same level as the water!!!!
taking on watertaking on water
taking on water

OMG! I freaked out when I saw this but was calm enough to take a picture :)
more water!!more water!!
more water!!

I couldn't believe how calm everyone was at this sight!!! But we made it safely to the other side.
boatboat
boat

This is the kind of boat we were in!! A canoe with a motor on the back!!! LOL!


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb