One fish, two fish...


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
February 12th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I was a kid, Dr. Suess' "One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish" was a personal favorite. How I developed a fear of fish - live or dead - as an adult is a bit perplexing. Now this fear does not extend to eating the little guys. I enjoy them (particularly Flounder, Tilapia and Salmon) grilled, fried and pretty much any way you can serve them. But to actually touch them is another story!
So it was with a little trepidation and a lot of curiosity that I headed out to Soumbedioune, a fish market on the beach in Dakar. You can find people milling around the area most of the afternoon but the joint really gets jumping around 5pm just as the sun is starting to set. Dozens upon dozens of fishermen drag in their catch of some of the most unique and even beautiful fish I've ever seen.
The delectable (not!) odor of fish mingled with the sweet, salty smell of the sea smacks you in the face before you can even get close enough to see what all the hubbub is about. And oh what a loud, fun, stinky, overwhelmingly exciting experience it is! As fishermen in their boats (les pirogues) are arriving from the sea young boys, and others on the beach, grab hold of the nets full of flip-flopping fish and drag them ashore. Women arrange the day's catch into neat piles and shoppers meander through the throngs of boats, vendors and fish to make their selections. Just like any other market in Dakar, it is important to know exactly what you're in the market for BEFORE you actually arrive because there are roving vendors there who will try to sell you everything from calling cards to batteries to tube socks and nail clippers....oh yes, and fish.
On this particular trip to Soumbedioune I am looking for shrimp so that my friend, Awa, can prepare Salade Chinoise - a delicious concoction of shrimp sauteed with onions, garlic and tomatoes and served over a steaming plate of vermicelli. No, not exactly a Senegalese dish but because I am a creature of habit (at least when it comes to cuisine) I could eat Salade Chinoise at least once a day everyday. My friend, Vincent, an avid and passionate fisher, accompanies me for the trip and I learn more than I ever thought possible about the different types of fish available in Dakar.
The best, most sought after fish is the Badesh. (And a few nights later I realize why as I'm thoroughly enjoying fresh, grilled Badesh with friends.) I saw rainbow colored Mackerel (Maquereau en Francais), Grondin, which look like orange frogs with fins and five-foot long Baracuda's with their big eyes and sharp teeth. I made some new friends, took a few pics and walked away with about 7 pounds of shrimp at an excellent price!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Baracuda teethBaracuda teeth
Baracuda teeth

Look at those teeth!!
A bucket of fishA bucket of fish
A bucket of fish

Grondin, Maquereu, and a bunch of other fish!
My shrimp man!My shrimp man!
My shrimp man!

Yummy, yummy shrimp!


13th February 2008

Glad you're enjoying yourself
Congratulation on the blogsite. Great story and beautiful writing about fish and life from the coast of Senegal. I'm gald you are having fun, eating fish and loving it. Stay strong, take care and best regards. Walle A.
14th February 2008

My Travel Journalist
Darlin', Your story reads so well!!! I guess to be expected since you are a writer:) but I felt like I was watching Samantha from the travel channel or something. How cool would it be for a journalist for the travel channel (or any one willing to pay you to travel, experience, and write)? Well, it's a thought for you to consider.... you would be great at it! Keep it up and share more!!! Emmua!
31st March 2008

Thank you my dear!!! I am so sorry it took me so long to get around to responding to your comment. I am still learning how to work my blog. I thought I got an email with every comment people made but I guess they just send me an email when people send me a direct message. Anyway, thanks for your comment. It made me cheer out loud. I love you bunches and bunches!! And I promise I will update more. Love, Mel, P.S. I know, how awesome would it be to get paid to travel?!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb