Pick-a-religion


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria
June 5th 2011
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is nine am on a Sunday morning and already we have been to an hour and a half church service. As members of staff we had to set a good example for the pupils by going and taking part. As a person with *gasp* no religion, I was asked to pick between, a catholic mass, a Muslim prayer school or an Anglican service at the big church. In chose the Anglican service because that’s where all the local kings go and where most of the pupils go also there was rumour of gospel choirs and I imagined something out of Sister Act!
The service was long and confusing – It was half in English with the odd tribal word thrown in then there was a section in a tribal language with the odd English word thrown in. The pastor got every adult in the church to come and greet us. After about 30 handshakes and “you’re welcomes” we felt like part of the congregation! Once the greetings were done and the reasons for, and benefits of using amen after prayers were thoroughly addressed things took a turn for the crazy!
It was like that scene in the Blues Brothers where they see the light! Everyone was dancing and singing and shouting, I had no idea what to do with myself! In the end I opted for a gentle, reserved sway with an occasional clap when it was absolutely necessary... I think I was the most English person ever to English at that moment in time! In the service were the lesser kings and chieftains as the main king (His Imperial Majesty) was not in town. Their wives sat a few rows behind them and really got into the service. Church really was an experience but I think next week I’ll be attending the catholic service as its only 20 minutes long!
We had a brief tour of the school and then were sent to meet our individual departments. To say this is a school with a lot of money, the organisation of the departments is beyond my comprehension. I am now more nervous than ever about what I will be teaching as maths isn’t my strong point and I have no idea what is expected of me or what the classes will be like.
This afternoon we are going to plan some lessons and then head to the pool for a birthday party. I’m thinking tonight will have to be an early night – 5:30am start and due to forgetting to turn the light switch off after the power died, when the power came back on at 4am so did my 30000 Watt bulb! I am so very sleepy right now!
Right that’s me for the day! I’m not sure what’s been planned for us beyond teaching this week but hopefully we’ll get to do some fun stuff beyond the classroom too! I am excited to see what the week brings!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb