I'm still alive


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody!
I'm still alive and coming into my last days here at harnas. I really like it here but lately have been a little homesick. For food, we usually have meat of some sort (usually Kudu) along with carbs of some sort (pasta or what have you). There are no fresh fruit or vegetables... only the animals get those! No milk or cheese or anything either, but i'm alive and not starving so Its all good!

I went on my second cheetah walk today and I must say I think that is my favorite thing to do here.

Pride chased the bottle I was running with for a while today and there was an incident when the bushman were driving three donkeys (which later I saw being shot to death 😞 ) Through the area where we were walking them.... the cheetahs went crazy and tried to chase down the truck! And later when we were bringing them back we saw Rudi (blesbok) and cleo made this really cute chirping noise, because she wanted to get out to eat him! LOL I love those two!

Things are great here, really hands on, and alot of hard hard hard work, but it is really enjoyable work so its worth it.

Love you all I'm out of time.

ME

Advertisement



4th August 2008

Hi Nikki, Don't worry about being homesick, soon you will be back and it will seem like you weren't even gone. So just enjoy what little time you have left. Are you running out of batteries yet? I can't believe it is almost time for us to come meet you. I am getting nervous but excited at the same time. And you know me I will wait till the last minute to get anything ready. I read your blogs to Gramma and she says hi! And so does Elvis:) Same ol stuff here. Have you gotten any of the cards I tried to send you? I am only going to be at work 5 more days before I leave. I had to look up what a blesbok was. Love hearing from you and will see you in less than 2 weeks! Love You So Much XOXOXO Mom, Mark and Kyle
4th August 2008

Glad to hear everything is going great. Too bad about the donkeys though, why did they do that? Were they to feed some of the animals? Everything is the same here, not much else is new. Missing you, but I know your having a good time so I couldn't be happier for you. I have been doing a lot of thinking as of late, and I know I said no animals, but, if you want to bring home a baby cheetah, that is ok with me. Can't wait to hear from you again. I would talk more but I haven't really done anything else. I miss you tons hun and I hope that the rest of your time there in Harnes is something to remember. I love you. Mat
6th August 2008

Enjoy it to the end
Nikki, I understand the homesickness, you are a long way from home. But soon you'll be a tourist with your mom and sister and it will seem like a dream. Just make sure you take lots of pictures and movies ( I know you've heard that before ) to remenber it all. A year from now you won't believe all the little things you will forget about . Love you and can't wait to get you home so you can show us everything. Dad and Cheryl

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb