Random things


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
October 7th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My PrincipalMy PrincipalMy Principal

My Principal and the SchoolBoard Member receiving a check...the Schoolboard members here are very active in the schools
So, just some random things going on...

Two weeks ago, we had a ceremony where we got $100,000 Namibian dollars (about $14,000 US) donated to the school by this company. As I have mentioned before, my Principal is something else. She is really a go-getter, Type A personality. Through her fundraising (which they have to do here because they really don't get a lot from the government) she has gotten a Kombie (a mini-van) donated, the 10 computers (with a printer and scanner) and now this money donated. I am really impressed by her skills...

The other fun thing as my principal would say is that "I'm fam-u-ous!" I have now made it into 2 publications...the first was in a magazine called Insight when I was in the Gay Rights parade and the second was in the newspaper for my lovely fashion at our Prize Giving...i'll do autographs when I'm home 😉

Also, this week, we had a fun-day where all the kids dressed as their opposite sex..it was very cute! All the boys were wearing their mothers and sisters wigs and dresses! And it was "World Teachers Day" so we had a nice day off from school
The GiverThe GiverThe Giver

The Company - ARechnab Community Trust...I've heard that these big companies here have to give money to the schools and communities or will be hit hard on taxes at the end of the year...it's just up to the schools and communities to ask!
where I got to play some volleyball...I think teachers/Social Workers should get this day off in the States too!

So I did the Computer class for adults this week which went really well...we had such a variety of people...some who have never even seen a computer before and didn't speak any English to a few 20-somethings who had been on a computer before but didn't really know much about it. So it went well, after introducing the computers, I had them do the Paint program. They got a real kick out of it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The School ChoirThe School Choir
The School Choir

THe kids enjoying their free "cool drinks"
I'm fame-u-ous!I'm fame-u-ous!
I'm fame-u-ous!

My principal pronounces famuous as fame-u-ous and it always makes me laugh!
Dress -up dayDress -up day
Dress -up day

This was really a fun day!
Fashion ShowFashion Show
Fashion Show

This was our fashion show at the end of the day! I was cracking up!
The Dux LearnerThe Dux Learner
The Dux Learner

This is Gregory - my buddy - who I always said is studying and reading. At his Prize Giving Ceremony he was the "Dux Learner" (the best Learner in his grade!) I was very proud of him!
World Teachers DayWorld Teachers Day
World Teachers Day

Some Teachers and Learners got together for some volleyball and soccer. It was fun..we had a braii (bar-b-q) paid for by their union!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb