Term 2 Coming to a Close...


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
August 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello,

Well, my dad was right...this blog site is not the best...just got a message that most of my past blogs may be lost...hmmm...not good news...good thing I am keeping a journal and that my dad thought ahead and saved a hard copy of all of my past blogs too...

anyway, not much I can do about it now...

So, this past week was good...not too exciting once again. To simply make a point about my PG-13 life...the highlight was going to one of my Grade 5's birthday party...yes, that's right...the highlight of my week was an 11 year old's birthday party 😊 But I found out, they celebrate just like we do...cake, gifts, and money (that part was a little different...her mother put out a bowl and everyone just kind of dropped money into it for the birthday girl)

But my quiet social life will be coming to an end this week...I am going to my friend's town, Omaruru to be a guest judge in their beauty pageant...fun, fun...don't know how I feel about judging girls parading around in their underware...

Next week is our last week of school for the term. My how time
Blowing out the candlesBlowing out the candlesBlowing out the candles

It was my learner Jo-ann's birthday. She is great. Her Aunt (who is now her mother because her mother passed away this past year) is a co-worker of mine and they give me a ride to school everyday.
flies...only 4 months left! So my plans are that I am going to be travelling around with a friend of mine to this area called Fish River Canyon. It's supposed to be the Grand Canyon of Namibia. We are going to be hiking and camping...should be fun and then my dad comes! I'm excited...



Advertisement



7th August 2007

Wow!
Y'know, even if it's 'just' a birthday party, it's in bloomin' Namibia. You'll never have one of those again. So keep enjoying. L, J
7th August 2007

inspirational
Hi Jess- I can't believe you have only four months left. It seems like it went by quickly to me but your experiences will be with you forever. I just finished watching the Oprah Leadership School for Girls that she established in South Africa and I was brought to tears by these amazing children with huge dreams. The whole time I was thinking about you and the work you are doing. You are changing lives and an inspiration to everyone. I can't wait to hear all of your most memorable stories firsthand. Enjoy your remaining time and keep making a difference! xoxo, Lisa

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb