My Day at My Teacher's House


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Putting on the first layer of the dress
Yesterday I, along with the other two girls at my school, went to my teacher’s house to celebrate the 1st birthday of her daughter. She let me try on the traditional Herero dress. It had 6 layers of fabric and took about 10 minutes to put on. There was a matching necklace and earrings that came with the dress and the head piece. I sat in it for about 30 minutes and was sweating profusely because it was so warm and heavy. This dress is what Herero women wear to funerals and weddings and more traditional women wear all the time once they are married.
As we were putting it on, I was amazed at how perfectly it fit me. It could not have been a better fit both around and height wise. Even my teacher, Belinda was amazed at how well it fit. It was an honor to wear this dress and to spend the afternoon with her family. Her daughter was very scared of me at first but soon became accustomed to how we looked and would even let me hold her to take a picture. She has invited us to come back again to try some traditional
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

and the next 5
food.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Just putting the last brooch on
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

I'm finished
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

It is very bulky and heavy
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

It is traditional to sit in it, which is very hard to do.
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Galiana and me
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Belinda and me
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Belinda's family and me
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Autumn, Brandi and me


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb