Addendum 8/31


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Rundu
August 31st 2013
Published: August 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

At the FallsAt the FallsAt the Falls

Can you see the footbridge behind me? I am soaked. So glad I had my rain jacket.
I just posted the blog and was sitting here with the door open thinking, "I'm really used to living with insects now," when in flew the most humongous bumblebee sort of thing I have ever seen. It just flew straight in the back door coming toward me. I freaked. It must have been as big as a golf ball, round with pretty wide wings (needed because it was so fat). Now that I think of it, I might have seen it in a Disney Cartoon. Fortunately, it flew to the screens on the open kitchen window. So I got the broom and carefully lifted up the screen. It was more intelligent than a fly, because it flew right out again. Then I ran and closed the back door, so it couldn't change its mind. Anne Lingener-Reece and I did a similar dance with a giant cockroach in New Orleans years ago, but with a can of Raid rather than a broom, which still makes me laugh when I think of it. Notice I can laugh when they are not actually coming at me.

Anyway, it made me remember I got the pictures from my phone. Nothing new, but some more
Our Water was OFfOur Water was OFfOur Water was OFf

How to get water from the river without getting eaten by a crocodile.
great ones of the Falls and a few others.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Fetching waterFetching water
Fetching water

The kids brought everything they had that might hold water.
Carrying it homeCarrying it home
Carrying it home

If you look closely you can see that each one has a container of water on her head. I tried, but couldn't do it. They said I had to learn as a child.
ColleaguesColleagues
Colleagues

Mr. Kapisi of the cabbage and his wife. She actually teaches at a different school. They go back and forth on weekends. They are in our dining hall / "multipurpose room"
The FallsThe Falls
The Falls

Look at all that water! It is truly wondrous.
In LivingstoneIn Livingstone
In Livingstone

Some of you won't get this, but my mom was Nancy, Aunt Nancy to my cousins, and sometimes when we had leftovers for dinner she would make a menu and call it Nancy's Hideaway. Nicki and I both laughed when we saw this. Made our taxi back up so we could get a picture. My mother neglected the Bar part.
More fallsMore falls
More falls

I'm trying to convey the sheer volume of water


1st September 2013

Your Travels
Hi Wendy, Greetings from Deer Lake. Labrador & Newfoundland is a wonderful province. I'm sorry that Nicki couldn't join me. Traveling solo isn't such a big deal once you get over the initial fear ... Although sometimes I do get anxious. Sounds like you are doing great and your Facebook photo looks great. I'm enjoying your blog entries. Cheerio, Sally
1st September 2013

Lovely photos & story!
I'm so enjoying the story and photos of your adventure! Keep reading aloud to your students, it will pay off on the end! I did that with my English 9 kids and it did help even when I didn't think so! Later some of them told me! It's planting seeds you may not see bear fruit, but still worthwhile. Love, Dorena
1st September 2013

The sheer volume of water is difficult to convey, but ypur pictures do credit to your skill as a photographer!
8th September 2013

Michele told me of the great time you are having. Keep up the good work.
9th September 2013
More falls

The Falls!
Your pictures are great! And you really have given us amazing pictures of the amazing falls! That is beautiful and awe-inspiring sight!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb