Slow Week


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Rundu
March 10th 2013
Published: March 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello, All,

I just discovered that my Feb. 20th blog had not been published, as far as I could tell. I called it the exorcism. However, it seemed some of you commented, so I may have just put it up a second time. If so, there are no changes and you don't have to read it again.

I think it has been longer than I thought since I blogged. It is now 7 1/2 weeks and still no refrigerator. I am going to call the Inspector tomorrow. But we did get paid--TWICE. We got an automatic deposit for January, 1/2 a month. There was no information about it, so we didn't know. But when Rachel went to get some money, she discovered it in her account. So I checked and sure enough, I had some too. Almost all spent now. I found some Thai peanut sauce mix and coconut milk in the little store, so I bought it. It was a bit of a splurge. For February we go a check, which is the pits. We have to get in to Rundu to deposit them, and then they wait some days because it isn't the same bank. I went in last week, but stood in line for a half hour in exactly the same spot. It was a huge line and people kept coming in and finding friends further up. So I quit and went to the lovely cafe we found and had a coffee milkshake. This week Rachel went in and got right in, so she deposited my check, too. Last week was the end of the month, so payday for everyone! They all cash their checks then go out drinking--even here at school. I didn't go, and am glad because it sounded pretty awful. Rachel had a friend visiting, so they went. From her description, I dont' think I'd have enjoyed it. I hope I am not becoming a stick in the mud. (Teaching English, I am now wondering if that requires hyphens.)

Last week was actually a pretty down week. My co-teacher, Lucia, is pregnant, and I think her hormones are wacky. She keeps wandering off, and not telling me things, and it was sometimes rather difficult. Apparently they do not get excited about pregnancy here. It is bad luck. They don't actually talk about it until the baby is actually born. I was wondering why she wasn't telling people, then the librarian explained to me. Now I wonder why she told me. Perhaps because of the wandering body and mind. It is her first, although she has taken on her brother and sister's five children because they have both died. The kids are in boarding schools, and one is 16 or 17. But one is only 4 or 5 years old.

Things are slowly getting organized. I am still at Mr. Lee's for internet. The internet has been put into the school, but so far only a cable connection, and my MacBook Air doesn't have the right kind of hole for the cable. The computer guy tried to tell me the internet wouldn't recognize my Mac, but I informed him he was full of bunk (trying to be polite). Turns out the wireless isn't on yet. Telecom is who we blame.

I feel like I need to come up with an adveture each time, but nothing for this one. I have only realized that when I thought I wanted to go abroad and live and work, that it would be pretty normal workiing, so I am pretty busy with marking papers and making lesson plans. I have almost finished "Wolf Hall," which is the first of two novels about Thomas Cromwell. It is hard to put down, if anyone is interested. It won the Man Booker Prize when it came out. It goes up to Jane Seymour. The sequel also won the Booker prize, almost unheard of, but I don't remember the title. I'm sure Amazon knows.

So I will sign off. I really enjoy getting your comments. One more good way to communicate. We are busy getting ready for the President to come open the school early in April. President Pohambo or Pohambe. I thought I'd invite President Obama, too.

More later. I miss you all. Take care.

Advertisement



10th March 2013

"It was a huge line and people kept coming in and finding friends further up. So I quit and went to the lovely cafe we found and had a coffee milkshake." Sounds like adventure enough, in fact maybe the keys to the kingdom. Meanwhile, I hear the Iditarod is going full bore. And yesterday was the first kind of warm-and-bright-enough day for neighbors to colloquy on the sidewalk amid early lawn mowing and dog frolicing. I remember when we were in China one day we figured out the public bus system -- getting across town all on our own without relying on our regular 'driver' -- and stunned the people at the University with our accomplishment, all in rudimentary Chinese. Then we blossomed to buying fish in the free market and planting corn... Namaste
11th March 2013

Comments from Bainbridge Island
Just got my e-mail set up so caught up on three blogs at once. I'm staying near Seattle until May 1. What a lot of asthma. Is the air quality poor? Lots of dust?Love hearing about the actual teaching and students. Loved the poem experience, and the exorcism! I'm attending a book group here--just read Running the Rift--heart wrenching story of genocide in Rowanda. Joined Island Fitness for classes and exercise and have my painting easel set up. It feels good to be doing something new! You are a great story teller--really enjoying your blog!!! Love, Nancy
12th March 2013

Elusive Frig
The frig is becoming a recurring comic theme... Spring has sprung here at home. So interesting to hear about pregnancy through the lens of another culture. Looking forward to hearing about the President's visit...
13th March 2013

Greetings
Wendy, I love reading your blog entries and I know that other CCE folks are reading them, too, because we often talk about your latest adventure. Take care, and know that you are in our thoughts and prayers.
23rd March 2013

Thanks.
Thanks, Gail. It is nice to hear. I miss you all.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb