Entering Paradise


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Fish River Canyon
March 11th 2007
Published: March 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Orange River Orange River Orange River

The view from our tent. Good morning Namibia!

Fish River Canyon



May 9th 2006
It is only day four and yet I am becoming familiar with the rhythm of the trip; tents down 6 AM, breakfast 6:15 AM, on the road by 6:45 AM. Gone is my old morning routine; wake up 5:45 AM, walk dogs 6:30 AM, at work by 7 AM, get coffee and read emails 7:15 AM., morning meetings, etc. I don’t miss it. This new pattern feels good, comfortable. Climbing in and out of the big truck is becoming less difficult and hopefully a little more graceful.

Once on the road I settle into the firm, worn, green canvas covered seats. I stare out the window, a long seemingly endless red dirt road ahead of us. There are grey mountains in the distance. Broad, flat plains in the foreground awash with the bright yellow bloom of the desert devil flower.

After 5 years of living in Washington D.C. surrounded by power brokers and spin masters where everyone is someone, works for someone or wants to be someone, I feel like I have been dropped on another planet, but one I instantly feel more comfortable in. For someone who is an adrenaline junkie, usually has a crowd of people around her, six major news channels on big screens, and at least one phone in her ear trying to solve some major issue; stopping to listen to my stream of conciseness is not something I do. I don’t have time, people need me, I am important.

But here, dwarfed by the scope and beauty of the surrounding landscape it is hard to feel important. There is quiet. I feel I should whisper, it’s as if I am standing in the shadow of God. For the first time in a long time, I can hear myself think. Standing in the middle of a dirt road, stretching to the horizon, I realize no one really needs me. I should feel alone and yet I do not. In fact I don’t think I have ever felt more at peace with myself and with where I am in the moment. Right now I am exactly where I need to be.

The reality of where I am and what I am looking at is hard to register. I am in Namibia, a place I have always dreamt of seeing and it is even more spectacular than I could have imagined. Staring out my window has started to become painful. I twist to try and get comfortable. My neck, not use to doing much other than holding my head up to stare at a computer or television screen, is sore from the one directional movement so I turn my gaze to the front. I stare at the back of David and Lukas’ heads realizing with the 6500 Kilometers we will be driving I will get to know that view well. (To be continued)...



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Fish River CanyonFish River Canyon
Fish River Canyon

A view from the canyon rim.
Canyon Ranch PoolCanyon Ranch Pool
Canyon Ranch Pool

Looked inviting but never had the chance to try it out.


Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 15; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb